Kiwanis Club installs new officers

On Sept. 24 the Jersey Shore chapter of Kiwanis had an offsite meeting to install the new 2013-14 officers. The installation of the new officers was held at Dave Jarrett’s camp near Swissdale.

Those Kiwanis members attending the meeting were Mike Lundy, Paul Miller, Judy Miller, Max Ameigh, Laura McMahon, Dan Eckley, John Corson, Kim Walker, Deb Steckenfinger, Jolene Edwards, Reed Mellinger, Wayne Fox and Chuck Lachat Jr.

Kiwanis guests also in attendance were Doris Jarrett, Doris Lundy, Nellie Eckley, John Miller, Joanne Ameigh, John and Gay Jarret, also Kiwanis Lt. Governor Linda Prior and her husband Steve were present.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the George F. Hixson Fellowship award to J. David Jarrett for his contributions to Jersey Shore Kiwanis Club.

The George F. Hixson Fellowship Award was created by the Kiwanis International Foundation in 1983. The purpose for the fellowship award is to honor the first president of Kiwanis International George Hixson and to establish an endowment fund.

The George F. Hixson Fellowship award is one of the Kiwanis International Foundation’s highest honors. Membership is granted to those individuals who have made a contribution of $1,000 or a contribution in that amount has been made by a Kiwanis Club, an individual, or by a company or organization, to honor a deserving individual and only individuals are eligible to become members of the George F. Hixson Fellowship.

The contributions are placed in the Kiwanis International Foundation’s endowment fund where only the earnings are used to provide grants in support of Kiwanis sponsored youth, disaster relief, and the needs of children around the world. Subsequent contributions of $1,000 entitles these George F. Hixson Fellows to become a Diamond Level Fellow.