Victorian Christmas tour schedule

Victorian Christmas this year has added a variety of new homes on its tour, with the exception of the Rowley House Museum, including a home located in DuBoistown. Trolleys will transport guests to all locations from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Parking suggestions include Park Place and Trinity Lutheran Church, 800 W. Fourth Street; Walnut and W. Edwin streets, corner lot; Covenant Central Presbyterian Church, 807 W. Fourth St. Carriage rides, offered by Your Carriage Awaits, will be offered for a fee from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The Harrar House

915 W. Fourth St.

This 11-room brick Victorian Italianate Villa was built for Lucy Eutermarks in 1870 as a wedding gift from her parents, Samuel and Emma Ott Filbert, and was, perhaps, designed by Eber Culver, noted Williamsport architect. The house originally  was assigned 913 W. Fourth St., but the bride’s parents, thinking this was unlucky, had the house number changed to 915. Of all the homes in the Historic District, only two have remained single family homes throughout their existence, and this is one of them.

The Hartshorn House

419 W. Fourth St.

Built in the 1860s for Frederick Hartshorn, a prosperous mill owner, the house has had many lives. In 1920, following World War I, it became the Garrett Cochran Post 1 American Legion. In the 1950s, a three-story brick front was added for retail space. Gloria Miele bought the home in November 2015 and removed the brick addition and restored the front.

The Community Arts Center

220 W. Fourth St.

The restored Community Arts Center resonates with the splendor of the holiday season. The inner lobby features the giant decorated Christmas tree, reaching to the ceiling in this beautifully restored art deco room.

The George E. Graff House

18 W. Seventh St.

This blend of Gothic and Folk Victorian style, perched atop Seventh Street, was built in the 1860s. The house became known as “The Graff House” throughout the late 19th century and early 20th century, due to community leader, inventor and businessman George E. Graff, who owned the Williamsport Sun, later The Gazette and WRAK. Graff enjoyed hosting parties at the home, which features hardwood floors, plaster architectural molding, original lighting, a marble fireplace and decorative transom.

Carson/Welch House

941 First Ave.

Built in 1930 by Herbert Carson, this is a handsome three-story white colonial home with a center hallway and beautiful hardwood floors. The home is complimented by numerous family antiques and an original still-life painting by Severin Roesen.

The G.W. Crooks House

1600 James Road

This lovely Vallamont home was constructed in 1926 for the George W. Crooks family, owners of the W.D. Crooks and Sons Door Co. This French country home incorporates various unique architectural features, including a mansard slate roof, interior slate flooring and staircase, pegged walnut floors, a walnut paneled den and a floor plan that ties together multiple split levels to accommodate the steep Campbell Street hillside.

James V. Brown Library

19 E. Fourth St.

The James V. Brown Library was a gift to the city of Williamsport from James Vanduzee Brown, a prominent citizen who made his fortune in lumber and grain mills. The library was designed by Edgar V. Steeler, and opened to the public on June 18, 1907.

City Hall Grand Hotel

454 Pine St.

Built in 1893 by Eber Culver, Old City Hall is no longer just for the commercial tenant that appreciates the eclectic late Victorian/Romanesque Revival-style of this remarkable landmark. In January, the building’s third floor was renovated into the very unique City Hall Grand Hotel.

YWCA

815 W. Fourth St.

The cornerstone for the majestic home of the YWCA Northcentral PA was laid in 1928, after a dedicated team of women raised $450,000 for construction in a mere five days. The centerpiece of this 70,000-square-foot Georgian-style building is the breathtaking rotunda. Griffins, gold-leaf and vibrant colors highlight this work of art.

Genetti Hotel

200 W. Fourth St.

Built in 1922, the former Lycoming Hotel stood 10 stories tall. Gus Genetti bought the hotel in 1976 and worked very hard to maintain the elegant atmosphere. The hotel, to this day, attracts many notable guests and is still the tallest building in the city.

The Joseph W.

Cochran House

440 Edgewood Ave., DuBoistown

Built in 1919, the Ertels are the third family to live in the home designed by architect Horance Trumbauer, of Philadelphia. Joseph W. Cochran and is wife, Nelle McCormick Cochran, were the first owners, followed by the James W. and Arlette S. Crooks family. Nestled between the mountains and Mosquito Creek, the Ertels have maintained the original architectural features of the home.

The Rowley House Museum

707 W. Fourth St.

This magnificent 1888 Queen Anne Victorian home was designed by Eber Culver and built on land bought by Peter Herdic. From an originality standpoint, craftsmanship and overall condition, this home exemplifies Millionaire’s Row. The building features Tiffany quality stained glass windows, cherry and oak woodwork and rare electric light fixtures.

Thomas T. Taber Museum Lycoming County

Historical Society

858 W. Fourth St.

For Victorian Christmas, the Thomas T. Taber Museum of the Lycoming County Historical Society will be alive with the sound of “All Aboard!” as its Community Room is enlivened with train layouts, an extension of the Will Huffman Toy Train Expo.

Church Tour

Christ Episcopal Church

426 Mulberry St.

9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Christ Church is the city’s oldest Episcopal church. A parish church was organized in 1841 and the first church building was located on the present site of the New Covenant Church. In 1869, the now-standing Christ Church was built, with its first service held on Christmas Day.

First Presbyterian Church

102 E. Third St.

9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Built in 1883 at the corner of Mulberry and East Third streets, The First Church of Williamsport has a rising ceiling vault of 35 feet, supporting bejeweled glass windows. The West Branch Barbershop Chorus will present a program of Christmas music from 11 a.m. to noon in the sanctuary.

New Covenant

Church of Christ

202 E. Third St.

9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

This is the only UCC church in Lycoming County and is home to the United Churches of Lycoming County. The church site originally  was Episcopal and German Lutheran congregations. German artifacts, including stained glass, give a Narthex welcome.

City Alliance Church

380 W. Fourth St.

9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

This Romanesque church was designed and built by Eber Culver on land donated by Peter Herdic around 1860. After being destroyed by floods, the original building was torn down in 1898. A new church was built in 1914. The mountain stone was quarried in this area. The Williamsport Youth Choir will perform from 11 a.m. to noon in the sanctuary.

St. Joseph the

Worker Parish

702 W. Fourth St.

10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Built in 1886 by Amos Wagner on land donated by Peter Herdic, this Romanesque-style church was built to serve the Irish community. The stone came from the nearby town of Ralston. The church features an abundance of marble and gold decor. Lunch, beverages and crafts will be available from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Covenant Central

Presbyterian Church

807 W. Fourth St.

9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Built in 1909 in the Richardson Romanesque style, this structure is marble and granite, including the front steps all quarried at the Avondale Quarry near Philadelphia. The roof is terracotta and copper with thick window lintels, large semi-circular arched entries, three doors with stained glass and many arches and stained glass windows. The church has an eight-sided dome in the sanctuary, which includes a cross on top, made of solid oak with hammered copper overlay.

Trinity Episcopal Church

844 W. Fourth St.

9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Built in 1875 by Culver and Thorn, the church was paid for by Peter Herdic, who donated both the land and the building to the parish. His father-in-law, Judge Maynard, presented the church with a set of Westminster chimes. The church is an example of English Gothic architecture and contains stone quarried locally from Bald Eagle Mountain. A Victorian soup will be served from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.

For information on each stop of the tour, visit victorianchristmas pa.wordpress.com/ for a copy of the Victorian Christmas brochure.

Schedule of events

Nov. 18

“Let It Snow,” DuBoistown Garden Club, 10 a.m. to 7 p.m., Pennington Lounge, Lycoming College. There is a cost.

“Snow Dream,” 6 — 8 p.m., Wine & Design, 357 Market St. There is a cost.

“Williamsport’s Historic Lumber Era,” 6 p.m., Thomas T. Taber Museum, 858 W. Fourth St.

“Lighting of the Tree,” 7 p.m., Park Place, 800 W. Fourth St.

Nov. 19

Growers Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., corner of William Street and Little League Boulevard.

Victorian Christmas tour, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. There is a cost.

Artisan Holiday Market, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., first floor of the City Hall Grand Hotel, 454 Pine St.

Will Huffman Toy Train Expo, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., Park Place, 800 W. Fourth St. A donation is required.

Children’s Wine & Design, walk in anytime, Wine & Design, 357 Market St. There is a cost.

“Let It Snow,” DuBoistown Garden Club, 10 a.m. to 7 p.m., Pennington Lounge, Lycoming College. There is a cost.

WSO Billtown Brass Band, 3 p.m., Williamsport Area High School auditorium, 2990 W. Fourth St. There is a cost with discounts available to students.

Nov. 20

“Let It Snow,” DuBoistown Garden Club, 10 a.m. to 7 p.m., Pennington Lounge, Lycoming College. There is a cost.

Will Huffman Toy Train Expo, noon – 4 p.m., Park Place, 800 W. Fourth St. There is a cost.