Williamsport Music Club Gala program to be held April 23 at music center

Spring is the season for music and the Will- iamsport Music Club will celebrate spring and music with a musical Gala. Highlighting solos, duets, a high school chorus, a quartet and a flute choir, this Gala also features the winner of this year’s $1,500 Williamsport Music Club/Budd Scholarship. The public is invited to attend this free concert held at Robert M. Sides Family Music Center, 201 Mulberry St., at 7:30 p.m. April 23.

The program begins with Suzan Revak-Fedele singing a solo taken from “Phantom of the Opera” by Andrew Lloyd Webber, titled “Think of Me.” She will be accompanied by Carol Waltz. Tom Wetzel will play two piano solos: “Paloma Blanca” by Dave Vonwens and “Shine, Jesus, Shine” by Graham Kendrick.

South Williamsport High School Select Choir, under the direction of Robyn Rummings, will sing three numbers: “Gaudeamus Hodie” by Earlene Rentz; “Address to the Moon” by John Purifoy; “Nothin’ Gonna Stumble My Feet” by Greg Gilpin. Members of the choir are Hannah Brumbach, Gabby Burch, Lexi Holtzman, Megan Kinney, Quinn Kline, Katie Little, Jordan Mondell and Abigail Wright.

Leatha Kieser will play an organ solo, “Prelude and Fugue” in e minor by Johann Sebastian Bach. Jane Keyte Landon and Carol Waltz will play a piano and organ duet, Fantasia on “America the Beautiful” by Rex Khoury.

VJQ, Vocal Jazz Quartet, made up of vocalists Lucy Henry, Cathy Byham, Tom Shellenberger and Craig Weaver will sing jazz renditions of several popular songs.

A relatively new musical organization, the Williamsport Flute Choir, will play the first movement of “Eine Kleine Nachtmusick” by W.A. Mozart and “Clusters and Flusters” by Ricky Lombardo.

Members of the Flute Choir are Mary Ann Bauer, Jamie Chambers, Corine Giacobbi, Katie Hilliard, Sheila Hornberger, Linda Lynch, Nancy Moff, Peggy Morehart and Sheri Yingling.

The winner of this year’s $1,500 Williamsport Music Club/Budd Scholarship, violinist Sarah Long, will be featured playing Concerto No. 1 Prelude by Max Bruch accompanied by Kristin Ivers.

The chairman of the Gala program is Carol Waltz. Ushers are Mary Bower and Robert Maples.