Weis Center for the Performing Arts 2013-2014 season

LEWISBURG – The Weis Center for the Performing Arts, 1 Dent Drive, Bucknell University campus, has announced their upcoming 30-event season, which begins Aug. 30 and ends April 17.

The season will yield a plethora of world music, including jazz, blues, modern dance, traditional dance from India, Ireland and Poland, classical, Americana roots and also a family discovery series.

“Audiences will have the opportunity to experience artists creating work in a variety of disciplines and styles,” said Weis Center’s executive director, Kathryn Maguet.

“We have an outstanding selection of classical music, including the stellar Pacifica Quartet and the Szymanowski Quartet, an exciting new quartet receiving considerable international attention recently, the Venice Baroque and the young brilliant pianist Gabriela Martinez,” she said.

The first event, Red Molly, a free performance, will begin at 6 p.m. Aug. 30 outside on the Weis Center Plaza.

The trio, considered Americana, has been praised by major publications like The Boston Globe, saying, “Red Molly may be from New York, but their bluegrass and old-time gospel sounds and buoyant three-part harmonies are so downhome it’s as if their notes are carried to you on the crisp air of the Ozarks.”

They have even been invited to open shows for Willie Nelson.

Following will be another free performance by the Pedrito Martinez Group at 7:30 p.m. Sept. 11, at the Campus Theatre.

Having toured with Dave Matthews Band, Willie Nelson and Ray Charles, the ensemble has “roots planted firmly in the rumba tradition and revels in the bata rhythms and vocal chants of Yoruban and Santerian music,” according to Weis Center’s page.

The group, considered Afro-Cuban music, will bring a very cultural experience to the stage.

“The Weis Center is committed to bringing artists from around the world to the central Pa. Region. We’re very encouraged by the response we received to last year’s offering and we are excited about the upcoming season,” Maguet said.

Further down the

road, shows include:

Piano Inauguration, a recital by Sezi Seskir, 2 p.m. Sunday, Sept. 15, in the Weis Center Lobby.

Aparna Ramaswamy, Sannidhi (Sacred Space), 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 19, at the Weis Center.

LEO, The Anti-Gravity Show, 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 24, at the Weis Center.

Josh Ritter Acoustic, a part of Bucknell University’s Family Weekend festivities, 7:30 p.m. Friday, Sept. 27, at the Weis Center.

Camille A. Brown and Dancers, 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 5, at the Weis Center.

Vieux Farka Toure, 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 16, at the Campus Theatre.

Pacifica Quartet, 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 19, at the Weis Center.

Emmylou Harris and Rodney Crowell, part of Bucknell University’s Homecoming Weekend festivities, 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 26, at the Weis Center.

NY Theremin Society, 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 30, at the Campus Theatre.

Ballet Hispanico, 7:30 p.m. Friday, Nov. 1, at the Weis Center.

Gabriela Martinez, 7:30 p.m. Friday, Nov. 8, at the Weis Center.

Andy Statman Trio American Masterpieces Tour, 7:30 p.m.Wednesday, Nov. 13, at the Campus Theatre.

Catherine Russell Trio, 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 20, in the Weis Center Lobby.

Pablo Ziegler Classical Tango Quartet, 7:30 p.m. Friday, Nov. 22, at the Weis Center.

Natalie MacMaster, Cape Breton Christmas, 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 7, at the Weis Center.

David Engel’s Pirate School!, 1 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 14, at the Weis Center.

Les Ballets Jazz de Montreal, 7:30 p.m. Friday, Jan. 24, at the Weis Center.

Szymanowski Quartet, 7:30 p.m. Friday, Jan. 31, at the Weis Center.

Slask Song and Dance Ensemble of Poland, 7:30 p.m. Friday, Feb. 7, at the Weis Center.

Ruthie Foster and Eric Bibb: Thanks for the Joy, 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 12, at the Campus Theatre.

Venice Baroque Orchestra, 7:30 p.m. Friday, Feb. 21, at the Weis Center.

Romano Drom, 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 26, at the Campus Theatre.

Corbian Visual Arts and Dance (in Collaboration with Lightwire Theater) Dino Light, 1 p.m. Saturday, March 1, at the Weis Center.

Martin Hayes Masters of Tradition, 7:30 p.m. Friday, March 21, at the Weis Center.

Dublin Guitar Quartet, 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, March 26, at the Campus Theatre.

Sybarite5, 7:30 p.m. Friday, April 4, at the Weis Center.

Zakir Hussain and the Masters of Percussion, 7:30 p.m. Friday, April 11, at the Weis Center.

Jason Moran and the Bandwagon, 7:30 p.m. Thursday, April 17, at the Weis Center.

“Dance lovers will be thrilled with the innovative Camille A. Brown, Aparna Ramaswamy, Ballet Hispanico, Ballet Jazz de Montreal, as well as the Slask Song and Dance Ensemble of Poland. We have some blues, world music, klezmer, bluegrass and the completely out of the ordinary NY Theremin Society, right before Halloween,” Maguet said.

Additionally, there are several family shows, she said, including LEO (Sept. 24), Pirate School! (Dec. 14) and Dino Light (March 1). “I expect that many of our shows will be popular, especially the legendary Emmylou Harris and Rodney Crowell and the alternative indie artist Josh Ritter,” Maguet said.

To learn more about these shows, visit Weis Center for the Performing Arts’ website, www.bucknell.edu/WeisCenter.