Lycoming College to hold 9th annual Student Film and Video Festival

Winning videos and films of Lycoming College’s ninth annual Student Film and Video Festival will be shown from 7-9 p.m. April 19 at the Carmike Cinemas, 300 W. Fourth St. The event is free and open to the public.

The program will feature the winning submissions for films and videos in three categories: narrative and documentary; experimental; and animation. Awards will be given to the best film in each category from all submissions.

A special award, the Tom Woodruff Jr. Grand Jury Prize, will be awarded to the best submission by a Lycoming College student. Woodruff, a Williamsport native and Academy Award winner, is a special effects artist and actor who has worked on films such as “Terminator” and “Aliens.” The awards will be announced at the screening.

Because seating is limited, tickets are required and will be available for free at the Student Program Office in the Wertz building on College Place. The office is open from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. Monday through Thursday and from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Friday. Those interested also can contact Donna Weaver at 570-321-4118 regarding ticket availability.

“The high-quality of the films made the selection process difficult and I commend the creativity and thought-provoking themes of all who submitted work,” said Leah Peterson, associate professor of digital media and department chair at Lycoming College, who organizes the festival. “We encourage everyone to join us for the entertaining evening provided by these emerging filmmakers.”

All films have a running time of less than 12 minutes. More than 35 undergraduate students from Pennsylvania schools from around the state submitted work. Students from Lycoming College, Penn State University, Point Park University and Temple University were invited to screen their films at the festival this year.

Films being screened (in no particular order):

Christopher Frank, Point Park University: “Grand Theft”

Ryan Bender, Temple University: “Young Lady You’re Scaring Me, Music by Ron Gallo”

Olivia Nazzaro, Lycoming College: “Funky Florence”

Michael Competiello, Lycoming College: “Outdoor Ice”

Timothy Vasey, Lycoming College: “Needed”

Emily Rupe, Lycoming College: “Born Out of This”

Jennifer Carmody, Lycoming College: “Goodnight Moon”

Brynn Antaran, Temple University: “ERODE”

Shane Patrick Robinson, Penn State University: “They Need Us”

Chris Murray, Temple University: “Roselyn”

AJ McGarvey, Point Park University: “Tossed”

Submissions for the festival were juried by Peterson; Jim Dougherty, manager of instructional technology at Penn College; and Ceaphas Stubbs, assistant professor of photography.

For more information, visit