MU employees honored for service and dedication

MANSFIELD – The annual Mansfield University Service Recognition Program was held on April 23.

Employees who have served Mansfield University for 10, 15, 20, 25 and 35 years were honored. Faculty were recognized by academic year. People who have retired or will be retiring through summer 2013 also were recognized.

The following individuals were honored:

Ten years: Suzy Achey, Jeffrey Bosworth, Jocelyn Brion, Kathleen Carico, Donna Emmick, Lynne Hammann, Cindy Kerr, Anthony Kiessling, Anne Lavancher, Jackaleen Lundgren, Loren McNett, Scott Miller, Stephen Orner, Lori Ranck, Nathan Rinnert, Dale Rumsey, Jack Sackett, Stephan Smith, Steven Stein and Brian Townsend.

Fifteen Years: Connie Black, Francis Craig, Chris Gitchell, Shellie Gregorich, Karen Guenther, Ruth Hermansen, Diane Monkiewicz, Susanne Murphy, Richard Priset, Deborah Rotella, Nancy Sidell, Elizabeth Williams and Janet Yoder.

Twenty Years: Michael Chester, Michele Materese, Tanya Reese, Janeen Sheehe, Clifford Wiles and Carmen Wood.

Twenty-five years: Tekeste Abraham, Antonio Ambrosio, Flor Blanco, Scott Davis, Tamara Hagar, Youngsuck Kim, Pamela Lain, James Roupp, Ralph Thomas, William Tuttle and Jacquelyn Wisniewski.

Thirty years: Russell Dodson and Ebrahim Ghods.

Thirty-five years: Dennis Murray.

Employees who have retired or officially announced they will retire: Carmen Bianco, Michael Buck, Craig Cleland, Sheran Lawton, Robin Pinkney, Mary Lou Stroud, Scott Thornsley, Suzanne Urban and Larry Watts.

Also at the recognition event, Pam Boyce was named Employee of the Year.

The Employee Recognition Committee selected Boyce, an administrative assistant in the Academic Affairs Department, after a campus-wide nomination process.

Colleen Devine, campus post office; Russell Dodson, professor of geography and geology and chair of the department; Robert Maris, professor of biology; and Norma Stiner, physical plant and custodial; also were finalists for the honor.

Among the comments made on the nominations Boyce received were, “Pam has served Mansfield University with excellence for 27 years, readily accepting new assignments and responsibilities … She consistently displays a positive and ‘can do’ attitude and gives her utmost every day because, as she unabashedly says, she loves Mansfield University.”

The geography and geology department received the Spotlight Award, which is given annually to a department that exemplifies the four facets of the Mansfield Creed: Character, Scholarship, Culture and Service.

The winner was decided after a campus-wide nomination process.

Among the comments made in the nominations were, “The geography and geology department is known to students as the ‘fun’ department. Where else can you learn to kayak, mountain bike and hike and earn credit for it? It’s also known for its academic rigor, with students noting that the professors are tough but fair, providing excellent preparation for life after college A journey through the department’s hallways with its bulletin boards filled with research information and photographs of student outings best demonstrates the department’s vibrancy and relevancy.”

The Department staff consists of Jennifer Demchak, Chuck Dillon, Russ Dodson Deborah Dom, Lilace Guignard, Christopher Kopf, Lou Ann Rumsey, Ledrew Stocks and Scott Zubeck.

MU Music students Kelsey Boltz, Brittany Hendler, Justin Stark and Alyssa Wroblewski provided musical accompaniment during the luncheon.

The Employee Service Recognition program was facilitated by the Human Resources Department.