Outstanding Mansfield seniors honor mentors

MANSFIELD – Seventeen Mansfield University faculty were honored as 2012-13 outstanding senior mentors at a reception in April.

They were recognized by MU’s outstanding senior nominees for being a positive influence on them with and have mentored them as a student and future professional.

Each faculty member received a certificate and a copy of the nominating letter from the student.

The honorees and the students who nominated them are:

Nancy Boston, Music, nominated by Hanako Henty; Jeffrey Bosworth, history, philosophy and political science, nominated by Kristin Patterson; Leslie Clifford, biology, nominated by Nichole Eshleman; Jennifer Demchak, geography and geology, nominated by Christopher Southard; Andrew Gaskievicz, history, philosophy and political Science, nominated by Bethany Wigfield; Abe Ghods, business and economics, nominated by Jamie Patterson; James Guignard, English and modern languages, nominated by Caitlin Johnson; Shawndra Holderby, history, philosophy and political science, nominated by Kelsey Manchester; Jeanne Kagle, biology, nominated by David Glasbrenner; Susan Lanzara, health sciences, nominated by Victoria Lanzara; Robert Maris, biology, nominated by Catherine Masland; Dennis Murray, psychology, nominated by Damon Chalk; Holly Pieper, communication, nominated by Mary Patricia Mitchell; Janice Purk, applied socio-behavioral studies, nominated by Sam O’Connor; Kristen Sanner, English and modern languages, nominated by Christine Rinnert; Jessica Trump, TRiO student support services, nominated by Victoria Pittman; and Kathy Wright, health sciences, nominated by Megan Butler.

The event was sponsored by the Center for the Advancement of Teaching and Learning, the Advising Center and the office of the Provost.

The Outstanding Senior Award was presented to Hanako Henty, Towanda, by MU interim president Allan Golden at the May 18 commencement ceremonies.