Jersey Shore ROCK Star award recipients announced

JERSEY?SHORE – Jersey Shore Area Middle School has announced the recipients of the monthly ROCK Star awards for December. As part of JSASD’s School Wide Positive Behavior (SWPB) initiative, JSAMS has identified and taught specific behavioral expectations for students while in all areas of our building.

These targeted behaviors all fit within the school’s slogan: “Jersey Shore Area Middle School ROCKs.” ROCK stands for Respect yourself, Organize and plan for success, Care for people and property, and Keep on learning.

Each month, teachers are asked to identify one student who has displayed the Universal Expected Behaviors, or UEBs, during the previous month. Each teacher completes a ROCK Star award certificate explaining exactly why they feel the student they nominated is a JSAMS ROCK Star. Award winners are announced during daily building-wide announcements and they receive a letter of invitation to attend a special ROCK Star breakfast served by the school’s principal Laura Milarch and middle school assistant principal, Keith Veldhuis.

December’s ROCK Star award winners were invited to a breakfast held in the school library on Jan. 23. The food was prepared by Colleen Hawk and JSAMS cafeteria staff.

Haley Enders and her life skills students prepared for the breakfast by setting the tables as well as making table centerpieces and other decorations. Award winners were presented their ROCK Star certificates.

This month’s award winners are:

Grade 6 – Lydia Breon, Cortni Frankhouser, Logan Garrett, Rachell Garrett, Schuyler Geary, Sean Koch, Esther Probst, Brianna Rogers, Corina Sarge, Annalee Schmidt, Maegan Sorgen, Stephanie Steinbacher and Joseph Young.

Grade 7 – Dayna Beitz, Dakota Dieter, Hunter Flook, Shania Hutton, Sierra Koons, Luke Miller, Kendra Nearhoof, Rusty Powers, Brianna Walters and Daytona Wentzel.

Grade 8 – Hunter Fidler, Marcus Hassinger, Samantha Keegan, Mynette Kell, Olivia Killinger, Logan Kittle, Dylan Leitch, Sabrina Lucas, Hunter Mummert, Patrick Nienhueser, Brennon Reighard and Devin Thomas.