Williamsport Model UN attends convention

Williamsport Area High School’s Model United Nations team, under the direction of Marilouise Mazzante, had an outstanding showing at the Model UN Convention at Lock Haven University in April.

On the first day of the convention, students debated resolutions in committees. Resolutions that were passed in committee were then debated by the General Assembly on Friday. Many world issues on the political, social, economic and humanitarian scale were debated and discussed. Knowledge of world events and places is paramount in being a part of the convention.

Students have been meeting since January researching and writing resolutions, as well as practicing debating skills and learning parliamentary procedure.

With 80 students attending the convention from around the region, WAHS won three of the five big trophy awards.

Best delegate of

the entire convention

Eric Ask

Best delegation,

country of Iran

Alanna Harding, Sabrina Emms and Caroline Coopersmith

Most accurate representation,

delegation representing


Ian Dinsmore, Divia Feinstein and Isaac Milliken

In addition, the teams conferred with 27 “Best Delegate” awards that went to: Susan Reiff, Kelsey Robbins, Sophia Sprunger, Diana Q-Corona, Taryn Peacock, Connor Pardoe, Eric Ask, Alisha Chen, Ben Tripoli, Lucas Bower, Maddy Confair, Sabrina Emms, Alanna Harding, Caroline Coopersmith, Kaley Brinkerhoff, Ben Gahen, Thomas Osborne, Kyle Hoover, Mallory Sluhocki, Hannah Weber, Giana Zangara, Divia Feinstein, Ian Dinsmore, Isaac Milliken, Devin Marty, Nico Kaiser and Max Moore.