Lutheran scholarships awarded to Lycoming County students

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – InFaith Foundation, formerly The Lutheran Community Foundation, congratulates Lycoming County students who were awarded scholarship distributions totaling nearly $7,150 for the academic year 2015-16.

These scholarship opportunities are made possible through a permanently-endowed, charitable fund held at the Foundation, The St. Paul Lutheran Church Scholarship, founded by the congregation of the former St. Paul Lutheran Church. St. Paul Lutheran Church, prior to its closing, established this special scholarship program to benefit Lutheran students who demonstrate involvement in church and community in Lycoming County.

Another grant, for $1,800 will be made from this fund to benefit Lutheran Shared Ministries, a program of the ELCA Upper Susquehanna Synod.

For 2015, scholarship awardees are Jennifer Jackson, Jillian Jackson, Emily Kuntz, Jane Mertes, Brady Kimble, Patrick Fisher, Christopher Shomaker, Staci Shomaker, Gabrielle Linn, Jerod Barone, Sean Wither, Devin Owen and Hayley Rhian.

The scholarship application for the next academic year will be available in January 2016. Eligible candidates are graduates of a high school, or a high school graduate equivalent, located in Lycoming County.

Candidates must be members of a Lutheran church, and eligible candidates also include those individuals who were members of St. Paul Lutheran Church at the time of its closing. Candidates must be attending, or plan to attend an institution of higher education (academic, technical or vocational).

Eligible candidates also must have a minimum grade point average (GPA) of 2.5 on a 4.0 scale and demonstrate involvement in church and community. Candidates may reapply in successive years for scholarships available from this program. This is a competitive scholarship and a limited number of awards are made each year.

Complete eligibility requirements and applications for the scholarships are available by contacting InFaith Community Foundation at 800-365-4172. In January 2016, applications will be available for download from the Foundation’s website at scholarship_applications.

InFaith Community Foundation, formerly The Lutheran Community Foundation, is a national, faith-based public charity with a mission to help individuals and families spread joy and change lives through charitable giving. Through careful management, donor gifts provide more than $10 million annually to charities serving our local, national and global community. InFaith is located in Minneapolis, Minnesota. To learn more, visit