Mansfield Professor named co-chair of Social Work Guide Steering Committee


MANSFIELD — Nancy Sidell, interim associate provost and dean of the Faculty at Mansfield University, has been named co-chair of the Steering Committee overseeing the Curricular Guide for Licensing and Regulation, a joint effort by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) and the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB).

CSWE is the accrediting body for social work programs the U.S. ASWB is the organization overseeing social work licensing examinations in the U.S. and Canada.

The Guide will serve as a national resource for BSW and MSW programs across the county and will be disseminated to all CSWE-accredited programs. It will develop specialized practice competencies and curricular resources for licensing and regulation. The steering committee consists of nine members from across the country, representing both graduate and undergraduate education as well as licensing and regulatory representatives. A national call for volunteers to populate a task force is under way now; task force volunteers will be assigned to one of nine work groups that will develop the guide and its accompanying resources. The goal is to finalize the Guide by fall 2018.

Sidell has been active with CSWE as a past site visitor and member of its Commission on Accreditation. She is currently one of five national item development consultants for ASWB, training and mentoring item writers as they develop licensing examination questions for tests given to social workers seeking licensure in 50 states and five Canadian provinces. She joined the MU faculty in 1998.

Sidell’s co-chair is Deana Morrow, director of the West Virginia University School of Social Work.

“I’m honored to be tasked with providing leadership to this important effort and look forward to working with Deana in moving this long-awaited project forward,” Sidell said.

For more information about studying Social Work at Mansfield, visit