Lycoming College appoints six endowed professorships

Lycoming College appointed six faculty members with endowed professorships made possible by established gifts to the College. Endowed professorships are one of the highest honors that Lycoming awards faculty members to recognize a career marked by exceptional teaching, scholarship and service.

The Shangraw Chair in the Liberal Arts was awarded to Sascha Feinstein, professor of English.

The John P. Graham Teaching Professorship was awarded to Gary Hafer, associate professor of English.

The M.B. Rich Chair was awarded to Steven Johnson, associate professor of religion.

The Logan A. Richmond professorship was awarded to Sandra Kingery, professor of modern language studies.

The Frank and Helen Lowry Professorship was awarded to Chriss McDonald, professor of chemistry.

The Robert and Mary Jackson Shangraw Professorship was awarded to Mehrdad Madresehee, professor of economics.

Recipients are competitively chosen by their peers among the full professors at the College, and retain their positions for five years.

Each nominee receives support and approval of Philip Sprunger, provost and dean of the College, the faculty endowed chair review committee, president Kent Trachte and the board of trustees.

“Lycoming College’s strong academics stem in part from a culture of teaching excellence in the classroom and professional success outside of it,” Sprunger said. “These faculty members exemplify some of the best Lycoming has to offer, and the honors bestowed upon them are meant to recognize their achievements.”