Commonwealth Medical College to honor 22

SCRANTON – The Commonwealth Medical College will honor 22 members of the Northeastern Pennsylvania Medical Education Development Consortium Board (MEDC) at its fifth annual gala at 6 p.m.. on Oct. 19 at the Scranton Cultural Center.

Through a grassroots effort started in 2003, these local business, medical community and government leaders laid the groundwork for the region’s first medical college.

The goal of the college is to provide more physicians and improved healthcare resources for the people of northeast and northcentral Pennsylvania.

“These visionaries conceived of a community-based medical school providing an innovative medical education to train future physicians to care for people in their lives and community,” stated Steven J. Scheinman, M.D., president and dean of TCMC. “This vision was made a reality with the awarding of our first doctor of medicine degrees in May 2013. I am pleased to recognize their foresight and contributions during this Gala celebration.”

At this year’s annual Gala, members of the MEDC will be recognized in a special tribute.

The annual fundraiser raises awareness for medical education in support of the student scholarship fund at TCMC.

To become a sponsor, purchase an ad and reserve your seat, call 504-9650 or go to

The medical colleges board members are Dr. Robert E. Wright, chairman; Robert W. Naismith, president; Harold E. Anderson Jr.; Dr. Charles J. Bannon; Denise S. Cesare; Michael M. Costello; Dr. Robert M. D’Alessandri; Dr. Richard B. English; Natalie D. Gelb; Christopher J. Haran; Dr. William R. Host; Gerard P. Joyce; Thomas F. Karam; David L. Lohin; James May; former state Sen. Robert J. Mellow; Mark T. Perry; Dr. Shubhra Shetty; Dr. Linda Thomas-Hemak; Dr. Gerald P. Tracy; David J. Williams; and Marlene Karam.