2 races highlight county school board elections

Two races for open school board seats in both the Williamsport and Montoursville area school districts highlight this year’s local elections.

Williamsport, which saw only one name on the primary ballot – current board member Jane Penman – will include six other individuals who made their way on with successful write-in campaigns.

The group – Spencer Sweeting, Nicholas Grimes, Robin Knauth, Chester Peterman, Carolyn Erickson and Ardis Mason – along with

Penman will vie for a total of five open seats on the city school board.

The other active race in the county will see three individuals compete for two seats in Montoursville’s Region 3. William S. Ruffing will appear on the ballot with current board members Scott W. Konkle and Dora Pioli for the the opportunity to capture the two seats up for grabs in that region.

Current Montoursville board member George E. Hagemeyer will be the lone candidate for the board’s one open seat for Region 1. The board’s one open seat for Region 2 will not have a candidate on the ballot.

In the South Williamsport Area School District, current board member John J. Engel and Gregg T. Balawajder are up for the two seats in Region 1. South Williamsport’s Region 2 and Region 3 both have one seat up with no individuals appearing on the ballot.

Loyalsock Township School Board’s four open seats will see four current board members – Maureen Carey, William P. Carlucci, John B. Raymond and Sheila J. Yates – on the ballot.

Jersey Shore Area School Board will see its Region 1 open seat have current board member Craig Allen on the ballot. The board’s two open seats for Region 3 will have Kelley Wasson and David R. Hines on the ballot.

Voters in East Lycoming School District will see current board member Amy Rogers and Karen L. Berger on the ballot for two open seats in Region 1. Current board members Randy Eddinger and Diane Santo also will be on the ballot for one seat each in Region 2 and Region 3, respectively.

Muncy School Board will see a few openings on its ballot. Current board member Lisa Sleboda will be on the ballot, although there are two open seats in Muncy Borough. Although two seats are open for Muncy Township, only Kimberly Spring-Winters will be on the ballot.

Muncy Creek Township will see current board member Mary C. Bennardi on the ballot for one four-year term and Scott M. Johnson for a two-year term.

Montgomery Area School Board will see five current board members as the only candidates for five open seats – Christopher J. Johnson and Augustine Spizzirri for Region 1; Todd S. Woodling and Gabriel Blasi for Region 2; and Jody Lee Budman for Region 3.