Tioga County clerk of courts faces challenger

WELLSBORO – Tioga County seats open in this year’s general election Nov. 5 include a challenger for at least one incumbent official.

Marie Y. Seymour won a spot on the ballot in May’s primary for prothonotary and clerk of courts over long-time incumbent Mary Kay Clark.

Seymour has worked in the prothonotary’s office for many years as a clerk, but this is the first time she has run for office.

Clark, a Republican, is running a write-in campaign.

Others on the ballot for county offices include:

Kera L. Hackett for county treasurer, replacing Frank Higgins Jr., who announced his retirement in the spring;

James E. Carlson for magisterial district judge, Mansfield office; and

Tom Young for sheriff.

All four candidates cross-filed to be on both the Republican and Democrat ballots.

Other notable races include the one for school director in the Southern Tioga School District.

Newcomers running include James D. Kreger, of Morris; John E. Ritter, of Troy; Sean Bartlett, of Mansfield; Stephen J. Guillaume, of Roaring Branch; and John Martin, of Mansfield.

Martin, Guillaume and Ritter filed as both Republicans and Democrats, Bartlett filed as a Democrat and Kreger as a Republican.

Martin is the only one of the four now on the board, having been appointed to take the place of Robert McConnell, of Mansfield, who resigned last year.

The other three candidates have been vocal critics at school board meetings of the current board’s policies and actions regarding closure and consolidation of one of its schools and potentially a second due to declining funding streams and enrollment.

In Wellsboro Area School District, two new candidates and one former board member will be on the ballot. Susan Usavage-Rudy and Steward C. Burrous are new, while Wayne A. Hackett is a former director running to regain a seat.

They are running for seats now held by John Peropat and Matthew Feil, who also are running. Republican John Peropat is running to retain his seat for a two-year term.

In Wellsboro Borough, incumbent president of borough council Joan S. Hart and incumbent Councilmen Rudolph K. Scharf and John M. Sticklin, all Republicans, are running to retain their seats on council.

Council member John E. Wheeler, who is not running for council this year, is running for mayor, to replace current Mayor Jim Daugherty, who is not running this year. All cross-filed.

In Mansfield Borough, Democratic former council member James Fry; Democrat David E. Cummings, appointed to replace Ben Hutcheson, who died earlier this year; Evan Perry, Republican; and incumbent Democrat Heather Morgan, who cross-filed, are running for council.

In Blossburg Borough, current council President Thomas R. Bogaczyk, challenger James J. Rakoski and incumbents Jolene M. Hall and Jerome L. Ogden, all of Blossburg, are running for council. All are registered Republicans.

In Clymer Township, Phillip Ackley, Republican, and Kenneth F. Burrous and George S. Harer, both Democrats, are running for supervisor.

In Covington Township, challengers Stuart R. Lisowski, of Covington, a Republican and Rodney L. Heindel, of Mansfield, a Democrat, are running for supervisor.

In Delmar Township, David Cleveland, Democrat, and Dean Andrews, Republican, are running for supervisor. Dorothy Cleveland and Bette Chilson, both Democrats, and Elizabeth Gordon, Republican, are running for inspector of election.

In Elkland, Francis M. Kohut, Peter G. VanGorden Jr., Jack Tallarida, Roger R. Sherman and June Enderle Ramsey are running for supervisor.

Sherman is the lone Democrat, the rest are Republicans, with all cross-filing except Ramsey and Sherman.

In Gaines Township, Kathleen Orr, a Republican, and Debra L. Mann, a Democrat, are running for inspector of election.

In Knoxville Borough, Carl E. Cox and Malcolm E. Whalen, both Republicans, and Ricky Bloom, Democrat, are running for council.

In Lawrenceville Borough, Marian E. Russell and Ron Gonzalez, Republicans, and Maxine G. Smith, Democrat, are running for council.

In Liberty Borough, Frances C. Coppage, David Nearhoof and D. Floyd Kolb, all Republicans, and Tracey L. Gregory, Democrat, are running for council.

In Roseville Borough, Phyllis Hawthorne, George Bud Baker, Dale McKay and Ivan Mathewson are running for seats on borough council.

In addition:

  • In Shippen Township, John R. Reid Sr., Democrat, and Robert H. Confer, Republican, are running for supervisor seats.
  • In Sullivan Township, Thomas R. Robbins, Republican, and Darren L. Bradford, Democrat, are running for supervisor seats.
  • In Tioga Borough, William Preston, Sharon Grosjean and Doreen Burnside, all Republicans, are running for seats on borough council.
  • In Ward Township, Brenda L Nouse and Lloyd Ayres, both Republicans, and Edgar Sheaffer, Democrat, are running for borough council seats.
  • In Westfield Borough, Dale J. Weidman, Democrat, and Dick Vargeson, Republican, are running for mayor.
  • Gale E. Bollinger, Republican; Shaunta Vahey, cross-filed; Dale J. Weidman, Democrat; and Roger D. McCullen, Democrat, are running for borough council.

In Northern Tioga School District, Ian McLaughlin, of Westfield; Gregory M. Cummings, of Tioga; Julie H. Preston, of Tioga; and Kimberly Strauser, of Knoxville, are running for school director. All have cross-filed.

  • In Galeton, Bonita L. Stover, Republican, of Gaines, is running for school director.
  • In Canton, Ryan Allen, Republican, and Judith L. Sourbeer, Democrat, both of Roaring Branch, are running for school director.