2 new members for water authority

City Council approved the appointments of two new members of the Williamsport Municipal Water and Sanitary Authority Thursday night with just one “no” vote.

Steven W. Cappelli and George Bierman were picked by Mayor Gabriel J. Campana to replace Gregory Zeitler and Dean P. Muller.

Their five-year terms began at the moment they were sworn in during the meeting and will end Jan. 10, 2018.

Councilman Jonathan Williamson said the authority continues to face financial challenges as does its rate-payers.

Much of the pressures are caused by outside forces as the authority takes steps to build projects to be in compliance with state and federal environmental regulations, he said.

More than $120 million in upgrades to the Central Wastewater Treatment and West Plants are under way in order to reduce nutrients entering the Susquehanna River and Chesapeake Bay.

The authority continues, he said, to provide excellent sources of drinking water.

Williamson and others on the council, including Randall J. Allison, Liz Miele and President Bill Hall, each thanked Zeitler and Muller for their years of dedicated service.

Allison stressed how important the region’s resources of adequate and good water systems remains vital to the continued growth and health of the region.

Hall said he believed the mayor’s selections to be “good picks,” that used to be council’s picks until a change in the law.

Cappelli and Bierman were given the opportunity to offer a few words by Hall but declined.

After the meeting, Miele, who voted against Cappelli and Bierman’s appointments, had no comment on her decision.