Federal employees to take pay freeze through this year

Locally elected and appointed officials voted on the following matters in the past week:


The U.S. House of Representatives passed House Resolution 273, which freezes the pay of federal employees and lawmakers through 2013. U.S. Rep. Thomas A. Marino, R-Cogan Station, voted no. U.S. Rep. Glenn “GT” Thompson, R-Howard, voted yes.

The U.S. Senate passed Senate Bill 47, which strengthens the ability of federal and local law enforcement and service providers to combat domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking. U.S. Sens. Pat Toomey, R-Zionsville, and Bob Casey, D-Scranton, voted yes.


The House of Representatives passed House Bill 34, which requires the design, construction and renovation of certain state-owned or state-leased buildings to comply with specified energy and environmental building standards. State Reps. Rick Mirabito, D-Williamsport; Garth Everett, R-Muncy; and Michael K. Hanna Sr., D-Lock Haven, voted in favor. State Rep. Matthew E. Baker, R-Wellsboro, voted no.

The Senate did not pass any major legislation.


Williamsport Municipal Airport Authority board members approved the organization’s long-range plan for 2013 to 2017 and also approved an agreement with Airmen heating and ventilation company to increase its leased space by an additional 8,000 square feet. Those voting in favor were Mark Murawski, Atwood Welker, William Martin, T. Michael Hughes, Ryan Tira, Chris Logue and Rebecca Burke.

Lycoming County commissioners approved application for a $350,000 state Department of Transportation rail assistance grant that would rehabilitate rail lines at NuWeld, 2600 Reach Road. Voting in favor were Jeff Wheeland, Ernie Larson and Tony Mussare.


Jersey Shore Borough Council agreed to pursue establishment of a rental inspection licensing program. Under the program, all rental housing in the borough would undergo an inspection process. Voting yes were Sean Simcox, Marguerite Dyroff, Mary Greene, Kenneth Scheesley, John Pisarcik and Deborah Colocino. Voting no was Janet Barnhart. Wade Snyder was absent.

Muncy Township supervisors Paul Wentzler, Tom Schaech and Gregory Gilbert voted 3-0 to send a positive recommendation to the state Department of Transportation for lane and signal change improvements on the Route 220 and Interstate 180 corridor.

Bowman Field Commission voted 4-0 to endorse Williamsport Crosscutters applying for a grant from the Lycoming County Visitors Bureau to create a deck and improvements near the third-base visitor’s dugout. Voting in favor were Lou Hunsinger Jr., Matt Hutchinson, Wayne Fausnaught and Jason Fink. Commission member Frank Lupacchino was absent.

Old Lycoming Township supervisors voted 3-0 to approve a time extension needed to produce parcel descriptions for construction of a CVS pharmacy on Lycoming Creek Road. John Eck, Janet Hall and Linda Mazzullo voted in favor.

School district

Jersey Shore Area School Board voted 8-1 to begin discussions on closing Nippenose Valley Elementary School. Voting in favor were board members Shelley Helm, Robert Pryor, Heather Williamson, Craig Allen, Denise Smith, Harry Miller, John Shireman and Karen Stover. Voting against the item was board member Harry Brungard.

Jersey Shore Area School Board also voted 7-2 to approve its 2013-14 preliminary general fund budget. The budget included a 5-percent mill increase and allow the district to file for property tax exceptions. Voting in favor were board members Shelley Helm, Robert Pryor, Harry Brungard, Heather Williamson, Craig Allen, Denise Smith and Karen Stover. Voting against the budget were board members Harry Miller and John Shireman.