House legislation requires timely federal budget

Locally elected and appointed officials voted on the following matters in the past week:


The U.S. House of Representatives passed legislation that requires presidents to release a new budget by the first Monday in February and outline policies for attaining a balanced budget starting for the 2014 budget year. Reps. Thomas A. Marino, R-Cogan Station, and Glenn “GT” Thompson, R-Howard, voted in favor.

The U.S. Senate did not pass any major legislation.


The State Senate passed Senate Bill 259, sponsored by Sen. E. Eugene Yaw, R-Loyalsock Township, which regulates terms and conditions of certain oil and natural gas leases. The bill makes a number of changes requiring oil and gas producing companies to list production details and all deductions on royalty check stubs.

The House of Representatives did not pass any major legislation.


Lycoming County commissioners approved a contract with the Centre County Prison to transfer overflow inmates to that institution for $65 a day. Voting in favor were Jeff Wheeland, Ernie Larson and Tony Mussare.


Muncy Borough Council voted unanimously to hire Robert Mauck as a crossing guard. It also voted 6-1 to equally split $90,000 in revenue between the borough’s equipment and emergency funds. Voting for the motion were Galen Betzer, Matilda Noviello, Dana Bertin, Jon Ort and Linda Stein. Richard Baker voted against the motion. Elaine McAleer was not present.

City Council voted 7-0 to accept $140,000 in Lycoming County-obtained natural gas impact fees to go toward the demolition costs associated with a housing project at the former Brodart warehouse, 1690 Memorial Ave. Voting in favor of the agreement to use the money were President Bill Hall, Liz Miele, Bonnie Katz, Jonathan Williamson, Don Noviello, Randall J. Allison and N. Clifford “Skip” Smith.

School districts

The South Williamsport School Board adopted a preliminary budget on Monday night for the 2013-14 fiscal year that will require, if no changes are made, an 11.28-percent tax increase. Voting in favor were Don Lowe, Gregg Balawajder, Jerry Broskey, John Engel, Mary Ann Cowden and Sue Davenport. Absent were Chris Branton, Sam Burch and Greg Anthony.

Williamsport Area School Board voted 8-0 to approve bids for its high school renovation project. Work should begin later this month. Voting in favor were members Lori Baer, Jerene Milliken, David Stone Jr., Brette Confair, Dale Vollman, Jay Shultz, Dr. Jane Penman and Karen Confer. Board member Thomas Zimmerman was absent.