Money for county bridge inspections receive approval

Locally elected and appointed officials voted on the following matters in the past week:


The U.S. Senate confirmed the nomination of John F. Kerry as secretary of state by a 94 to 3 vote. Sens. Pat Toomey, R-Zionsville, and Bob Casey, D-Scranton, voted yes. The U.S. House of Representatives was not in session.


The Senate passed Bill 187, which requires institutions of higher education that pay a monetary penalty pursuant to an agreement with a governing body to establish an endowment for the funds under certain circumstances. The legislation was sponsored by Centre County Republican Jake Corman to keep Penn State University’s NCAA fine for use within Pennsylvania. Sen. E. Eugene Yaw, R-Loyalsock Township, voted yes.

The House of Representatives was not in session.


Lycoming County commissioners voted to approve a $5 million private placement bond for a construction project at The Williamsport Home, 1900 Ravine Road. The bond is issued by the Lycoming County Authority, while commissioners formally adopted the measure. Jersey Shore State Bank is expected to purchase the bond amount and parcel it out to other banks. The county is not financially obligated in the agreement. Commissioners Jeff Wheeland, Ernie Larson and Tony Mussare voted in favor.

Lycoming County commissioners approved spending up to $116,070 for inspections on 73 locally owned bridges under 20 feet in length. The money comes from the county’s liquid fuels funds from gasoline taxes and Act 13 funding. Commissioners Wheeland, Larson and Mussare voted in favor.


Hughesville Borough Council agreed to pay $2,536 to take part in the Muncy area corridor access study. The study will be an evaluation of the transportation future in an area that includes seven municipalities, including Hughesville and Muncy boroughs and Wolf, Muncy and Muncy Creek townships. Voting in favor were Jeff Berger, Mary Burns, Richard Smith, James Savage and Andrew Mook. Curtis Michael was absent.

School district

Jersey Shore Area School Board voted 9-0 to approve the middle school soccer team. The team will be at no cost to the district. The team must secure enough funding and players in order to participate. Voting in favor were board member Shelley Helm, Robert Pryor, Harry Brungard, Heather Williamson, Craig Allen, Denise Smith, Harry Miller, John Shireman and Karen Stover.