School board OKs boundary changes

Locally elected and appointed officials voted on the following matters in the past week:


Lycoming County commissioners formally approved bid requests for single-stream recycling equipment to be purchased and installed at the county’s recycling center in Montgomery. Commissioners also approved a waste planning grant from the state Department of Environmental Protection for an updated five-county, 10-year waste management plan. Included besides Lycoming County are Snyder, Union, Columbia and Montour counties. Commissioners Jeff Wheeland, Ernie Larson and Tony Mussare voted in favor of both measures.


Woodward Township supervisors unanimously approved two of their members switching seats. Thomas F. Frantz has become the vice chairman, and Alan J. Worth has become the new chairman of the board. Voting were Thomas F. Frantz, Alan J. Worth and Wayne P. Robinson.

The City Finance Committee gave a positive recommendation in a 3-0 vote for the full council to pursue a $375,000 grant with the state Department of Community and Economic Development for housing needs at the Brodart warehouse “Memorial Homes” site on Memorial Avenue.

The City Zoning Hearing Board granted variances to Ken Zeng, who is building a restaurant at 631 Washington Blvd., and required a parking lot addition, and Peter Sides, who owns a building at 45 Washington Blvd., and required a non-conforming-use permit because the building was abandoned for six months prior to him permitting two commercial tenants to operate inside. Voting 4-0 in both instances were Mary Lou Baldys, Judy Sarett, Linda Crockett and Bonita Kolb.

City Council voted 7-0 to reach a cooperative agreement with Steuben Churchpeople Against Poverty doing business as Arbor Housing Development and pursue a $375,000 state Department of Community and Economic Development grant that will be passed over to the developer of a mult-family housing complex at Brodart warehouse site 1060 Memorial Ave. Voting in favor of the proposal were President Bill Hall, Bonnie Katz, Liz Miele, Jonathan Williamson, Randall J. Allison, Don Noviello and N. Clifford “Skip” Smith.

School district

Williamsport Area School Board voted 6-1 to approve a 2013-14 preliminary budget. The preliminary budget included a 2.368 mill increase. Voting in favor were board members Lori Baer, David Stone Jr., Brette Confair, Thomas Zimmerman, Jay Shultz and Dr. Jane Penman. Voting against the budget was board member Dale Vollman.

The board also voted 5-2 to approve new school boundaries for the 2013-14 school year. The boundary change is due to a grade reconfiguration, which included closing two schools. Voting in favor were board members Baer, Stone, Vollman, Zimmerman and Shultz. Voting against it were Confair and Penman.

Montgomery Area School Board voted 6-1 to hire Grant Evangelisti as the new district business manager. Voting in favor were Adam R. Diggan, Jody L. Budman, Gary L. Yocum Sr., Gabriel P. Blasi, Augustine F. Spizzirri, Todd S. Woodling, Paul E. Stryker Jr., Todd Baker and Benjamin J. Enders. Christopher J. Johnson was the only “no” vote.

Muncy School Board voted 9-0 to approve a resolution supporting reform of the state’s cyber charter school funding formula. Voting in favor were Thomas Gardner, Dr. Mary Bennardi, Carla Auten, Lisa Sleboda, Brian Krah, Scott McLean, Danielle Baum, William Schneck and Robert Titman.

East Lycoming School Board voted 7-0 to approve a preliminary budget for the 2013-14 school year that would raise property taxes 0.67 mills if approved. Voting in favor were Richard Michael, Lea Ann Hawk, Kellie Shaner-Gordner, Diane Santo, Richard Bradley, Amy Rogers and Randy Eddinger. Donna Gavitt and Debra Sherlinski were absent.

Federal and state

The House and Senate all were out of session.