Area representatives split on wine, liquor privatization

Locally elected and appointed officials voted on the following matters in the past week:


The House approved 105 to 90, House Bill 790, which privatizes the sale of wine and liquor. State Rep. Garth Everett, R-Muncy, voted in favor. State Reps. Michael K. Hanna Sr., D-Lock Haven, and Rick Mirabito, D-Williamsport, voted no.

The House approved 194 to 0, House Bill 492, which would amend the 1998 Crime Victims Act to allow petitions to deny parole upon expiration of a minimum sentence. State Reps. Mirabito, Hanna and Everett voted in favor.

The House approved House Bill 658 194 to 0, which authorizes public school districts to implement senior local tax reduction incentive volunteer exchange programs. Mirabito, Hanna and Everett all voted in favor.

The Senate approved Senate Bill 5 50 to 0 that would create the Community-Based Health Care (CHC) Program in the Department of Health to provide grants to community-based health care clinics. State Rep. E. Eugene Yaw, R-Loyalsock Township, voted in favor.

Also approved was Senate Bill 644 32 to 18 that clarifies that the definition of “wild animal” to not include a species or variation of swine, pig or boar, held in captivity. Yaw voted in favor.


City Council approved a contract with Delta Development Group, of Mechanicsburg, not to exceed $180,000, or $90,000 a year with the authority after one year to review and either extend or end it by a certain date. The company provides consulting services on transit friendly projects downtown and revitalization of the downtown area. The vote was 7-0 with Council President Bill Hall, Liz Miele, Bonnie Katz, Jonathan Williamson, Don Noviello, Randall J. Allison and N. Clifford “Skip” Smith.

School district

Williamsport Area School Board voted 8-0 to approve changes to 2013-14 high school course offerings. Voting in favor were board members Lori Baer, Thomas Zimmerman, Jerene Milliken, David Stone Jr., Dale Vollman, Brette Confair, Dr. Jane Penman and Karen Confer. Board member Jay Shultz was absent.

Jersey Shore Area School Board voted 6-1 to approve base and alternate bids for its elementary school project totaling $12,581,898. Voting in favor were board members Shelley Helm, Robert Pryor, Heather Williamson, Harry Miller, John Shireman and Karen Stover. Board member Harry Brungard voted against the action. Board members Craig Allen and Denise Smith were absent from the vote.

The board also voted 5-2 to approve a change to Policy 903, dealing with public participation in board meetings. Voting in favor were board members Helm, Pryor, Miller, Shireman and Stover. Board members Brungard and Williamson voted against the action. Board members Allen and Smith were absent from the vote.