Candidates prepare for primary election in May

Almost 400 candidates submitted petitions for county and municipal elected office for this year’s May primary election, according to Sandy Adams, Lycoming County director of elections and registration.

Of those, seven people are competing for three open seats on Williamsport City Council. Incumbents Liz Miele – a Democrat – and Randall J. Allison and N. Clifford Smith Jr. – both Republicans – are seeking re-election, while Republicans Joel E. Henderson and Scott Miller and Democrats Alison D. Hirsch and Kelly Anderson try to make their way on to Council.

All three city Democratic candidates will move to the November general election, while the lowest vote getter on the Republican side will be cut.

Republican county Sheriff Mark Lusk is seeking reelection for another four years. He is being challenged by Democrat Hugh “Ed” McGee.

Both candidates will move on to the general election since neither has challengers within their own political parties.

Incumbent Montgomery Borough Mayor Andrew Onufrak, Republican, is being challenged by two people – Republican Terry E. Turner and Democrat Perry Shoemaker.

In Jersey Shore Borough, incumbent Republican Mayor Dennis Buttorff is up against fellow Republican Dennis Thompson. No Democratic candidates entered the race for mayor.

Five people – all Republicans – are competing for three, four-year terms on Montoursville Borough Council. In the borough’s 1st Ward, Margaret A. Knight faces Christopher Lucas, while David L. Moyer competes against Theodore J. Saul in the 3rd Ward. Rosemary N. Holmes is an unopposed candidate in the 2nd Ward.

Three Democrats will face one Republican for two seats on the Loyalsock Township board of supervisors. Two Democrats will advance from a group of Christopher A. Benson, Jennifer Black and Richard Caschera Jr., while lone Republican Paul Nyman automatically advances to the general election.

Scott W. Konkle, Dora Pioli and William S. Ruffing have cross-filed for four-year terms and James Bergen has cross-filed for a two-year term in the Montoursville Area School District. Bergen and George E. Hagemeyer are guaranteed to move to the general election, as voters can select just one two-year candidate and Hagemeyer is the only one running in his region.

In Old Lycoming Township, incumbent Supervisor John Eck faces fellow Republican David Shirn for a seat on the board.

Scott E. Delany and Daniel Whitmoyer face off for one available seat on the Muncy Creek Township board of supervisors.

Five people – all Republicans – are competing for one seat on the Plunketts Creek Township board of supervisors. They are: Marvin F. Springman, Randy L. DeVinney, James W. Lewis, Casey Parker and Timothy Wheeland.