County awards contracts for maintenance of vehicles

Locally elected and appointed officials voted on the following matters in the past week:


Lycoming County commissioners awarded contracts for maintenance of county vehicles and for food products for the county prison. Bastian Tire and McCarthy Tire & Auto received vehicle maintenance contracts, while Keyco Distributors, Feesers Inc. and Benjamin Foods received food product contracts. Commissioners Jeff C. Wheeland, Ernie Larson and Tony Mussare voted in favor of both contracts.


Loyalsock Township supervisors voted 5-0 to allocate 82 percent of 2013 Community Development Block Grant funding to making curbs handicap accessible. Voting in favor were John Bower, Jeff Rauff, Virginia Eaton, Rick Wheeland and Marc Sortman. Supervisors also voted 5-0 to accept the transfer of a liquor license from Limestone Township.

Williamsport Municipal Water and Sanitary Authority voted 9-0 to sign a sales and service agreement with Loyalsock Township to pick up the township’s sewer collection system. Approving it were Thomas A. Frazier, William E. Nichols, Eiderson A. Dean, William Ertel, Steven W. Cappelli, George Bierman, Johnny R. Meyer, Dr. Marshall D. Welch and Matthew Rebeck. Thomas Marnon was absent.

School district

Loyalsock Township School Board voted 8-0 for a resolution regarding need for reform of cyber charter school funding formula. Voting in favor were board member Edward Ade Jr., Maureen Carey, William Carlucci, Stephen Dewar, David Hornberger, Christina Kiessling, Sheila Yates and Paul Young II. Board member John Raymond was absent from the meeting.

East Lycoming School Board voted unanimously to approve $30,000 toward the district’s pool conversion project. Voting were Richard Michael, Lea Ann Hawk, Donna Gavitt, Kellie Shaner-Gordner, Diane Santo, Richard Bradley, Amy Rogers, Debra Sherlinski and Randy Eddinger.


The U.S. House and Senate did not vote on legislation this week.


The state House and Senate were not in session.