2 school boards to see races

While most school boards immediately will not be impacted by Tuesday’s primary election results, the Jersey Shore Area School Board will see Loren Koch take a seat at the board within the month after winning the newly created Region 3 seat during a special election.

Koch was the only candidate on the ballot for the special election that took place during the primary.

According to unofficial results, Koch won with 97.68 percent of the votes.

“My reasoning for wanting to be on the board is strictly for the well being and education of the students in the district,” Koch said Tuesday night.

The special election came after a court-ordered reapportion of the school board boundaries. The previous nine regions, represented by one board member each, were changed to three regions with three board members each to create a more equal representation of the district’s total population.

After the reapportion of boundaries, Region 2 was left with four board members on the current board with one up for re-election. The seat, held by John Shireman, representing the borough’s 3rd Ward, was moved to Region 3.

There will be an active race in the Jersey Shore Area School District in the fall for one seat in Region 1, as Craig M. Allen won the democratic nomination and Bethany Shrodo won the republican nomination.

Jersey Shore also saw its challengers win the nominations in a race for two seats.

David R. Hines and Kelley Wasson took two seats in Region 3, beating out current board members Harry J. Brungard and Shelley A.R. Helm on both the Democratic and Republican tickets.

Montoursville Area School Board Region 3 also will have an active race in November. With two seats open, Scott W. Konkle and William S. Ruffing won the Republican nomination. Konkle and Dora Pioli received the Democratic nomination.

George E. Hagemeyer ran only on the Republican ticket for Montoursville’s Region 1, which had one open seat, and received the nomination. There were no candidates on the ballot for Region 2 but saw 25 republican write-in votes and eight democratic write-in votes.

Jody Lee Budman defeated Dean Showers Jr. for a seat in Montgomery Area School Board Region 3 on both tickets. With two seats open in Region 1, Christopher Johnson and Augustine Spizzirri, who only ran as a Republican, won unopposed.

And although Region 2 had two open seats, only Todd S. Woodling appeared on the election, winning the nomination.

Williamsport Area School Board has five open seats but only saw Jane L. Penman on the ballot. There were 1,009 republican write-in votes and 644 Democratic write-in votes were cast for the city school board. Write-candidates for Williamsport are required to have 100 write-in votes in the primary in order to appear on the ballot in November.

John J. Engel and Gregg T. Balawajder won the republican nomination for two seats in South Williamsport Area School Board Region 1. The two only ran on the Republican ticket.

The board’s regions 2 and 3 had no candidates on the primary ballot and unofficial results show no more than 12 write-in votes on any ticket.

The four current board members and candidates – Maureen Carey, William P. Carlucci, John B. Raymond and Sheila J. Yates – for Loyalsock Township School Board four open seats received both nominations.

East Lycoming also saw all of its open seats filled by unopposed candidates. Amy Rogers and Karen L. Berger will fill two seats in Region 1. Randy Eddinger and Diane Santo took the one seat a piece in Region 2 and Region 3, respectively.

Muncy School Board had two regions without enough candidates on the ballot to fill open seats. Muncy Boro and Muncy Township both had two seats open. Only Lisa Sleboda received the nomination for Muncy Boro. Mary C. Bennardi won the nomination for Muncy Creek Township. Scott M. Johnson won the nomination for a two-year term in Muncy Creek Township.