Write-in votes let incumbents survive to fall

The power of write-in votes was demonstrated during Tuesday’s primary elections in Lycoming County.

Montoursville Borough Mayor John Dorin’s attempt to retain his office will go on at least through the fall, as the eight-term Republican mayor earned enough write-in votes from Democratic voters to get a spot on the November ballot.

Dorin’s Republican challenger, Kimberly A. DiRocco, received 316 votes, according to unofficial counts. Dorin was not listed on the ballot Tuesday because he decided to retire from office but later changed his mind.

The mayor received 144 write-in votes to DiRocco’s 57 write-in votes, unofficially, to make it to the November election.

Dorin said Wednesday afternoon that he would accept the Democratic nomination for Montoursville’s mayor.

DiRocco said she was pleased with Tuesday’s results.

“I am very excited to be representing the Republican Party as the candidate for mayor and look forward to going down the road as the Republican candidate,” she said.

In Old Lycoming Township, David Shirn received 289 votes to incumbent John W. Eck’s 197 on the Republican ticket for township supervisor.

However, Eck squeaked out four more Democratic write-in votes than Shirn to potentially earn a spot on the fall ballot. Eck said that could change for either candidate when absentee ballots are counted.

In Loyalsock Township, Republican John Bower unofficially received the most write-in votes on the Democratic ticket. Bower, an incumbent, was not on the ballot Tuesday, but staged a write-in campaign against challenger Paul Nyman, who won the Republican nomination with 579 votes, unofficially.

Write-in votes for all 86 county polling places will officially be counted by the county’s Board of Elections starting Friday morning through the middle of next week, according to Sandy Adams, county director of voter services.

In Fairfield Township, voters approved a referendum for sales of liquor licenses by a vote of 302 to 231, according to unofficial results.

Although it seemed Craig Allen and Bethany Shrodo would have an active race in November for the open Jersey Shore Area School Board Region 1 seat, the Avis Borough vote in Clinton County ended up being the deciding factor in Allen winning both tickets.

Lycoming County’s votes gave Shrodo the Republican ticket but when adding Avis’ votes, Allen won the ticket by nine votes. Allen also won the Democratic nomination Tuesday in both counties.

Lycoming County’s voter turnout rate was just under 18 percent. Turnout ranged from 39.8 percent in Armstrong Township to 6.6 percent in the city’s 5th ward.

Adams said there were no significant problems at polling places.

Additionally, the Sun-Gazette received new unofficial election results from the Tioga County Voter Registration office released Wednesday.

In the race for prothonotary, the Republican Party’s nomination for prothonotary and clerk of courts went to Marie Y. Seymour, who received 2,309 votes, in addition to 247 write-in votes. Her opponent, Mary K. Clark, received 2,134 Republican votes and 119 write-in votes, according to unofficial results

The Democratic Party’s nomination for sheriff went to Tom Young, who received 472 party votes. His opponent, Paul Watkins, received 270 votes.

Four individuals announced their intention to run for the position of county treasurer on the Republican ticket.

The nomination went to Kera L. Hackett, who received 1,800 votes. Amy Perry followed with 1,322 votes. Craig West received 825 votes and Dennis Krumm received 683 votes.

George Cox, Tioga County director of voter registration, noted that the tally for write-in votes still was tentative. Cox expects official results to be released before the end of the month.

Sun-Gazette reporters Joe Stender and Savannah Dempsey contributed to this report.