Corner store variance denied, appeal coming

Locally elected and appointed officials voted on the following matters in the past week:


The House voted 217-210 to pass the Nutrition Reform and Work Opportunity Act, which cuts the food stamp program by $40 billion over 10 years if enacted, or about $4 billion a year. U.S. Reps. Thomas A. Marino, R-Cogan Station, and Glenn “GT” Thompson, R-Howard, voted in favor.

The House voted 244-173 to pass the Restoring Healthy Forests for Healthy Communities Act, which restores employment and educational opportunities in counties containing National Forest System land, while also reducing forest service management costs, by ensuring that such counties have a dependable source of revenue from National Forest System land. U.S. Reps. Marino and Thompson voted in favor.

The Senate passed a bill 97-2 to amend the Helium Act to complete the privatization of the federal helium reserve in a competitive market fashion that ensures stability in the helium markets while protecting the interests of American taxpayers. U.S. Sens. Pat Toomey, R-Zionsville, and Bob Casey, D-Scranton, voted in favor.


No votes were cast.


J. David Smith of McCormick Law Firm, 835 W. Fourth St., was approved at Thursday’s commissioners’ meeting to serve as county solicitor. Voting in favor were Jeff Wheeland, Ernie Larson and Tony Mussare.

The Lycoming County Planning Commission unanimously approved with conditions the land subdivision and land development plans for LongHorn Steakhouse and Mattress Warehouse at the Lycoming Mall. Voting in favor were Chairman George Logue Jr., Vice Chairman Larry Fry, Secretary Howard Fry, Cindy Bower, James Dunn, Chris Keiser, Joseph H. Neyhart, Carl Nolan and William Parsons.


Jersey Shore Borough Council approved a rental inspection licensing program. Voting yes were Mary Greene, John Pisarcik, Kenneth Scheesley, Deborah Colocino and Sean Simcox.

Jersey Shore Borough Council approved an agreement with SEDA-Council of Governments to administer the home rehabilitation program. Under the program, the borough is eligible to receive a $350,000 grant to rehabilitate between eight and 10 homes. Voting yes were Mary Greene, John Pisarcik, Kenneth Scheesley, Deborah Colocino and Sean Simcox.

Williamsport Zoning Hearing Board voted 2 to 2 and denied a request by Robert and Ruth Steppe seeking a table-of-use variance to operate a corner store at 799 Ames Place, which is in a residential zone. Voting against granting the variance were Mary Lou Baldys and Judy Sarett. Voting in favor were Mary Zeitler and Linda Crockett. Bonita Kolb was absent. In event of a tie, the request for a variance is denied, according to Gary Knarr, city zoning officer. The Steppes plan to appeal before a Lycoming County judge.

Woodward Township voted unanimously to apply for county funding, in hopes of being reimbursed for tarring and chipping of local roads. Voting were Alan Worth, Tomas Frantz and Wayne Robinson.

School district

Williamsport Area School Board voted 8-0 to approve temporary measures be done to the high school’s natatorium in order to ensure the swim team’s season. Permanent work to the suspended season will be performed after the season. Voting in favor were board members Lori Baer, Thomas Zimmerman, Jerene Milliken, Dale Vollman, Brette Confair, Jay Shultz, Dr. Jane Penman and Karen Confer. Board member David Stone Jr. was absent from the meeting.

Loyalsock Township School Board voted 7-0 to approve a change to the school year calendar. With the change, Schick Elementary will be in session on Oct. 14, while the middle and high school will have an in-service day. The middle and high school will be in session on Oct. 21 while Schick will have an in-service day. Voting in favor were board members Edward Ade Jr., Stephen Dewar, Maureen Carey, Christina Kiessling, John Raymond, David Hornberger and Paul Young II. Board members Sheila Yates and William Carlucci were absent from the meeting.

Montgomery Area School Board voted unanimously to hire four coaches for the 2013-14 school year. They were Kevin Mowery, varsity wrestling coach; Robbie Showers, varsity cheerleading coach; Dennis Deem, varsity girls tennis coach; and Tanya Deem, assistant varsity girls tennis coach.