South Side council OKs single-stream recycling

Locally elected and appointed officials voted on the following matters in the past week:


The House passed with a 235-191 vote the No Subsidies Without Verification Act, which prohibits the distribution of premium tax credits and cost reduction subsidies before the Department of Health and Human Services Inspector General certifies that the department has programs in place to verify household income and other coverage qualifications. Voting in favor were U.S. Reps. Thomas A. Marino, R-Cogan Station, and Glenn “GT” Thompson, R-Howard.

The Senate confirmed with a 73-24 vote Valerie E. Caproni, of the District of Columbia, to be U.S. district judge for the Southern District of New York. U.S. Sens. Bob Casey, D-Scranton, and Pat Toomey, R-Zionsville, voted in favor.


No votes were cast.


The Lycoming County commissioners approved the resolution to submit the 2013 Community Development Block Grant application to the state Department of Community and Economic Development. Voting in favor were Jeff Wheeland, Tony Mussare and Ernie Larson.


Williamsport Planning Commission recommended Ruth and Robert Steppe be able to open a corner store at 753 Acme Place. Voting in favor were Carolyn Bullock, Sam Washington, Theresa Williams and Charles Plankenhorn. Absent were Harry Sechler, Bill Rischar, Tom Hunsberger and Chris Keiser.

South Williamsport Borough Council voted to approve single-stream recycling. Voting in favor were Robert Cronin, Dan Cupp, Richard D. Harris Jr., Joseph Larue, President J. Bernard Schelb, Vice President Jeffrey Tompkins and Edward Weinhoffer. Henry Frey Jr. voted against it. Anthony Mussare was absent.

Montoursville Borough Council approved payment of $307,500 to the Lycoming County Water and Sewer Authority to settle a longtime debt. Voting yes were Robert Brobson, Eugene Boyles, Kim DiRocco and Ronald Shearer. Voting no was Mark Tillson. Dennis Holt was absent. Council also passed an ordinance to prevent unwanted and nuisance noise in the borough. Voting yes were Brobson, Boyles, DiRocco and Shearer. Voting no was Tillson.

The Williamsport Municipal Airport Authority approved the lease transfer between Sooner Pipe LLC and Marubeni-Itochu Tubulars America Inc. Marubeni-Itochu bought out Sooner Pipe, which leases 17 acres from the airport authority at 150 S. Loyalsock Ave. Voting in favor were Chairman Mark Murawski, Vice Chairman Atwood Welker, Christopher Logue and Rebecca Burke via phone. Secretary William Martin, Treasurer T. Michael Hughes and Assistant Secretary-Treasurer Ryan Tira were absent.

Williamsport City Council approved a conditional-use request of Benjamin Stopper to advertise his barbecue restaurant on properties he owns that are not on his restaurant site. Voting 7-0 in favor were Council President Bill Hall, Bonnie Katz, Liz Miele, Jonathan Williamson, Don Noviello, Randall J. Allison and N. Clifford “Skip” Smith.

School districts

East Lycoming School Board voted unanimously to appoint Donna Gavitt as the state School Board Association voting delegate for 2014. It also voted unanimously to transfer $150,000 from the general fund unassigned fund balance to the technology refresh reserve and $260,000 from the unassigned fund balance to the capital projects reserve. Voting were Richard Michael, Lea Ann Hawk, Donna Gavitt, Kellie Shaner-Gordner, Diane Santo, Richard Bradley, Amy Rogers, Debra Sherlinski and Randy Eddinger.

Montoursville Area School Board accepted the retirement of speech pathologist Eve Hilsher and the resignation of Lyter Elementary secretary Mary Mahosky. Voting in favor were Ellen Stoner, Thomas McNamara, James Bergen, Jill Kaplan, Dora Pioli, George Hagemeyer and Jeff Schans. Dale Ulmer and Scott Konkle were absent.