Local legislators split votes on appropriations

Locally elected and appointed officials voted on the following matters in the past week:


The Senate voted 81-18 to pass an act making continuing appropriations for the fiscal year ending Sept. 30, 2014. U.S. Sen. Pat Toomey, R-Zionsville, voted against, and U.S. Sen. Bob Casey, D-Scranton, voted for.

The House voted 285-144 to pass that act making continuing appropriations. U.S. Rep. Thomas A. Marino, R-Cogan Station, voted against, and U.S. Rep. Glenn “GT” Thompson, R-Howard, voted for.


The House voted 194-0 to pass a bill that reforms the Pennsylvania Redevelopment Assistance Capital Program by lowering the debt ceiling by $600 million, and mandating the administration to create a transparent review process for projects via the Internet and holding a 30-day comment period. Voting in favor were state Reps. Garth Everett, R-Muncy; Rick Mirabito, D-Williamsport; Matthew E. Baker, R-Wellsboro; and Michael K. Hanna Sr., D-Lock Haven.

The Senate voted 49-0 to pass the above bill. State Sens. E. Eugene Yaw, R-Loyalsock Township, and Joseph B. Scarnati III, R-Brockway, voted in favor.

The House voted 195-2 to pass a bill that strengthens child protection laws by requiring stricter reporting requirements on missing children. Voting in favor were state Reps. Everett, Mirabito, Baker and Hanna.

The Senate voted 49-0 to pass a bill to provide further definitions and reporting structures in child protective services. State Sens. Yaw and Scarnati voted in favor.


The Lycoming/Clinton Joinder Board unanimously approved fiscal year 2013-14 Mental Health and Intellectual Disabilities budgets, and fiscal year 2014 Early Intervention budget. Because of a zero-percent increase of allocations from the Department of Public Welfare for 2013-14, Mental Health Services cannot expand services or meet new emerging needs; however, they are able to maintain current levels of service. Voting were Jeff Wheeland, Ernie Larson, Tony Mussare, Jeff Snyder, Pete Smeltz and Joel Long.

The Lycoming County commissioners unanimously approved a Community Development Block Grant budget revision of 2010 funds from the Beaver Lake Sewage Treatment Plant to the DuBoistown sanitary sewer lateral repair project as a possible temporary holding place for the more than $73,000. Voting were Wheeland, Mussare and Larson.


City Zoning Hearing Board approved 5-0 a special exception for George Schuman, 915 Ellinger St., to open a tax office in a residence. The board also approved 5-0 a variance for Hermance Machine Co., 755 First St., for a deck in the rear of the business. Voting were Mary Lou Baldys, chairwoman; Bonita Kolb; Judy Sarett; Linda Crockett; and Mary Zeitler.

South Williamsport Borough Council unanimously voted to deny payment of a $13,660 invoice for special inspections to Larson Design Group for the borough’s wet-weather tank construction, which will eliminate sewage releases into the river. Voting were Robert Cronin, Henry Frey, Richard Harris, Joseph LaRue, Tony Mussare, Bernard Schelb, Jeff Tompkins and Ed Weinhoffer. Dan Cupp was absent.

Williamsport Municipal Airport Authority unanimously approved a lease for Drive Alliance’s partnership of National Car Rental, Enterprise Rent-A-Car and Alamo to rent one space in the airport terminal. Voting were Mark Murawski, Atwood Welker, William Martin, Ryan Tira and Rebecca Burke. T. Michael Hughes and Christopher Logue were absent.

Woodward Township supervisors voted unanimously to draft a new ordinance to be considered at their next meeting that will enable the local fire department to levy fines against businesses who fail to maintain their alarm systems. Voting were Alan J. Worth, Thomas F. Frantz and Wayne P. Robinson.

School District

Jersey Shore Area School Board voted 8-0 to approve a change order for $57,426.94 to the contract with Harger Utility Contractor Inc. for replacement of piers, additional support beams and fencing at the football stadium. Voting in favor were board members Shelley Helm, Robert Pryor, Harry Brungard, Heather Williamson, Craig Allen, Denise Smith, Harry Miller and Karen Stover. Board member Loren Koch was absent.