Election for municipal seats Tuesday

When it comes to Lycoming County’s boroughs and townships, Tuesday’s general election will see a number of contested municipal races.

There are 65,590 registered voters in Lycoming County, with 34,385 registered Republicans, 22,737 registered Democrats and 8,468 in other parties, according to Sandra Adams, county director of elections and voter registration.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Following is a list of contested races:


Hughesville, 1st Ward, three candidates for two four-year council seats, Andrew Mook (R), Gerald W. Kilgus (D), Jeffrey W. Berger (D)

Montgomery, two candidates for mayor, Andrew Onufrak II (R), Perry Shoemaker (D); five candidates for four seats on council, Donald Feaster (R), James N. McCarty (R), Fae Herb (R), Tina M. Turner (R), Richard Williams (D)

Montoursville, two candidates for mayor, Kimberly A. DiRocco (R), John Dorin (D)

Muncy, two candidates for mayor, Jonathan Ort (R), Elizabeth Preston (D)

South Williamsport, 2nd Ward, two candidates for one council seat, Jeffrey C. Tompkins (R), Larry Baker (D)


Eldred, two candidates for one supervisor seat, Mark Ranck (R), Larry Pittenger (D)

Jackson, two candidates for one supervisor seat, Arthur Plaxton (R), David L. Zeafla (D)

Jordan, two candidates for one supervisor seat, Melvin Swisher Jr. (R), Duane W. Stackhouse (D)

Loyalsock, four candidates for two supervisor seats, Paul Nyman (R), John Bower Jr. (R), Richard Caschera Jr. (D), Jennifer Black (D)

Moreland, two candidates for one supervisor seat, Darrin Scott Wertz (R), Jay Snyder (D)

Old Lycoming, two candidates for one supervisor seat, David Shirn (R), John Eck (D)