Budgets gain approval

(EDITOR’S NOTE: Each Monday, the Sun-Gazette summarizes major votes of the past week and, more specifically, how our locally elected and appointed officials voted on each matter. Watch for it each Monday in the Sun-Gazette.)

Locally elected and appointed officials voted on the following matters in the past week:


Lycoming County commissioners approved a $98.9 million budget for 2014 that maintains the real estate millage rate at 4.75. Voting in favor were Jeff Wheeland, Ernie Larson and Tony Mussare.


Jersey Shore Borough Council voted for Larson Design Group to proceed with design work on the secondary parking lot for the public river access project. Voting in favor were Marguerite Dyroff, Sean Simcox, Janet Barnhart, Mary Greene, Deborah Colocino and John Pisarcik. Wade Snyder and Kenneth Scheesley were absent.

South Williamsport Borough Council approved its 2014 budget of $4.7 million by a vote of 8-0. Voting in favor were council members Anthony Massare, Joe LaRue, Richard Harris Jr., Henry Fry Jr., Robert Cronin, Ed Weinhoffer, J. Bernard Schelb and Jeffrey Tompkins. Councilman Daniel Cupp was absent.

City Council approved 7-0 on first reading a $21.8 million proposed budget for 2014. Approving the proposed spending plan were Council President Bill Hall, Bonnie Katz, Liz Miele, Jonathan Williamson, Don Noviello, Randall J. Allison and N. Clifford “Skip” Smith.