Pa. House looks to cut numbers

(EDITOR’S NOTE: Each Monday, the Sun-Gazette summarizes major votes of the past week and, more specifically, how our locally elected and appointed officials voted on each matter. Watch for it each Monday in the Sun-Gazette.)

Locally elected and appointed officials voted on the following matters in the past week:


The Senate voted 64-36 to pass the 2014 budget. U.S. Sen. Bob Casey, D-Scranton, voted in favor. U.S. Sen. Pat Toomey, R-Zionsville, voted against it.


The House passed a bill that would cut the size of the House from 203 to 153 members and a bill that would reduce the Senate from 50 to 38 members. State Reps. Garth Everett, R-Muncy, and Matthew E. Baker, R-Wellsboro, voted in favor. State Reps. Rick Mirabito, D-Williamsport, and Michael K. Hanna Sr., D-Lock Haven, voted against it.

The House voted 198-0 to pass a resolution urging Congress to exempt volunteer firefighters, rescue and EMS companies from the Affordable Care Act’s employer mandate. Voting in favor were Everett, Baker, Hanna and Mirabito.


The Lycoming County commissioners unanimously approved a resolution that new hires after Jan. 1, 2014, will not receive health insurance after retirement. Voting in favor were Jeff Wheeland, Ernest P. Larson and Tony Mussare.

The Williamsport Area Transportation Study Coordinating Committee unanimously approved its 20-year transportation plan. Voting in favor were Sandra Tosca, Bill Nichols, Ernest P. Larson, Tony Mussare, Jeff Wheeland, Jeff Stover and Tom Hart. Myron Ellison, Dennis Holt and Gabriel Campana were absent.

The Lycoming County Planning Commission voted 7-2 to approve the recommendation of continuation of countywide reassessment in light of the potential impacts of the Biggert-Waters Flood Insurance Reform Act of 2012. George “Herm” Logue Jr. and Carl Nolan voted against it, while Larry Fry, Howard Fry, Cindy Bower, James Dunn, Christopher E. Keiser, Joseph H. Neyhart and William Parsons voted in favor.


Loyalsock Township supervisors approved the 2014 budget that keeps the real estate millage rate at 0.7 mill. Voting in favor were Marc Sortman, Virginia Eaton, Jeffrey Rauff and Rick Wheeland. Chairman John Bower was absent.

Woodward Township supervisors approved a no-tax-hike budget of $315,079 for 2014. Voting in favor were Tom Frantz and Wayne Robinson; chairman Alan Worth was absent.

City Council approved a $21.8 million 2014 budget that keeps the real estate millage rate at 11.58 mills. Voting in favor were President Bill Hall, Bonnie Katz, Liz Miele, Don Noviello, Randall J. Allison and N. Clifford “Skip” Smith. Councilman Jonathan Williamson was absent.

Muncy Borough Council approved Guarantee Ordinance No. 526 by a vote of 7-0, which allows the loan of $3.9 million for state Department of Environmental Protection-mandated sewer maintenance and repairs. Also approved unanimously was a new contract for police Chief John Dorman, at a salary of $51,000 in 2014; $52,020 in 2015; and $53,060 in 2016.

School District

Muncy School Board voted 9-0 to adopt a policy that restricts gift-giving among district staff in excess of $60 and to approve an Advanced Placement psychology course. Voting in favor were school directors Carla Auten, Mary Bennardi, Scott Johnson, Rhondel Moyle, Lisa Sleboda, Kimberly Spring-Winters, Robert Titman, Sarah Woodward and Scott McLean.

East Lycoming school board voted 8-0 to approve a four-year lease, at a cost of $6,498 per month, for 1,150 iPad Mini devices for a districtwide iPad initiative. Voting in favor were board members Richard Michael, Richard Bradley, Kellie Shaner-Gordner, April Roberts, Lee Ann Hawk, Karen Berger, Susan Sauer and Randy Eddinger. Board member Amy Rodgers was absent.

James V. Brown Library Board voted 7-0 to approve a proposed 2014 budget. Voting in favor were board members Harold Hershberger Jr., Thomas Burkholder, Melissa Welch, Gloria Greevy, Trisha Gibbons Marty, Dr. Don Adams and Gabriel Campana. Board member John Confer was absent.