County commissioners OK liquid fuels allocation

The Lycoming County Commissioners approved $150,000 from the county’s liquid fuels fund to be distributed among its 52 townships and boroughs Thursday.

The motion was approved by a vote of 3-0. Voting in favor were Tony Mussare, Jeff Wheeland and Ernie Larson.

County Transportation Planner Mark Murawski recommended the amount – which is the same as 2013’s allocation – noting that the county funding to townships and boroughs is supplemental to funding they receive directly from the state.

That state funding will see an 8 percent increase this year, he said, due to the passage of Act 89 in November, a bill that will boost transportation funding by more than $2 billion over the next five years.

The amount will be allocated based on a formula that factors in population density and miles of road, Murawski said.

The commissioners also approved a grant application for $724,351 to the state Commission on Crime and Delinquency, to benefit substance abuse treatment at the county’s Pre-Release Center and to partially fund the cost of an additional officer for the adult probation office.

Also receiving approval was the purchase of a 2014 Ford Fusion for the Pre-Release Center in the amount of $19,280.

The purchase is a part of the 2013-14 budget and will not be an unbudgeted expense, said Mya Toon, county chief procurement officer.

The commissioners approved a waste processing disposal capacity agreement with Mifflin and Juniata counties, which will allow both solid waste and recycleable materials to be processed at Lycoming County’s facilties.

The commissioners also approved several personnel changes:

Hired Elizabeth A. Regan as full-time public relations coordinator at an annual salary of $30,000.

Hired Elisabeth D. Frankel as full-time temporary paralegal at a rate of $16.10 per hour.

Hired Kevin Grant as full-time deputy sheriff at a rate of $17.55 per hour.

Hired Jerry L. Kennedy Jr. as full-time deputy director/manager networking and systems at an annual salary of $65,878.43.

Reclassified Kim E. Wheeler as full-time community development/lead planner within the Planning and Community Development Department at an annual salary of $61,144.14

Reclassified Brandy R. Clemens as full-time deputy director/accounting manager within the Fiscal Services Department at an annual salary of $56,300.82

The next commissioners meeting will be held at 10 a.m. April 15 at the Pine Street Executive Plaza, 330 Pine St.