From Staff Reports

Locally elected and appointed officials voted on the following matters in the past week:


The House of Representatives Veteran’s Affairs Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations held a field hearing in Tucson, Ariz., titled “Access to Mental Health Care and Traumatic Brain Injury Services: Addressing the Challenges and Barriers for Veterans,” which explored the challenges facing veterans who need treatment for traumatic brain injuries or post-traumatic stress.


The Senate and House of Representatives were out of session.


Lycoming County commissioners voted 2-0 to approve the purchase of a new microwave transmission system for the county’s 911 call center at a cost of $1.5 million. The commissioners also voted 2-0 to approve an agreement with Brian S. Auman Landscape Architecture for $30,000 for the design of a regional bike trail system that would extend from South Williamsport to the Lock Haven area, and to give $48,000 of natural gas impact funds to McIntyre Township for rehabilitation and improvements to the Ralston Flood Structure. Voting yes were Commissioners Jeff Wheeland and Ernie Larson. Commissioner Tony Mussare was absent.


Muncy Borough Council voted 3-2 to offer to terminate its leaseback agreement with the Muncy Borough Municipal Authority. Voting yes were Ed Feigles, Elaine McAleer and Richard Baker. Linda Stein and Tillie Noviello voted no. Dana Bertin and Karen Richards were absent. Council also voted 5-0 to pay $14,000 of a $21,690 engineering bill for streetscaping and to pay $4,000 to pay for street resurfacing of Glade Run Road.

School District

The East Lycoming School Board voted 8-0 to approve the 2014-15 school lunch and breakfast prices for students. Breakfast will cost 90 cents and lunch will cost $1.90 at the elementary school level. Breakfast will cost $1 and lunch will cost $2 at the secondary education level. The prices reflect a five-cent increase from the 2013-14 school year. Voting yes were Richard Michael, Richard Bradley, Donna Gavitt, Kellie Shaner-Gordner, Diane Santo, Jonathan Brokaw, Amy Rogers and Karen Berger. Absent from the vote was Randy Eddinger.

Montoursville Area School Board board voted 9-0 to retroactively approve Kristin Albaugh as the long-term substitute for Deb Henry at the Loyalsock Valley Elementary School. Her assignment was approved for March 4 through May 30. Voting in favor were Jeffrey Schans, Dale Ulmer, George Hagemeyer, Jennifer Marriott, Tom McNamara, Jill Kaplan, James Bergen, Scott Konkle and William Ruffing. The board also voted 9-0 to approve $4,723 for a trip for two students and a teacher to attend the Future Business Leaders of America National Conference in Nashville, Tenn.

Loyalsock Township School Board voted 8-0 to approve Daniel Egly as interim business manager effective July 1 until an undecided date in December. His salary will be $45,000. Voting in favor were Edward Ade, Maureen Carey, William Carlucci, Stephen M. Dewar, David Hornberger, Christina Kiessling, Sheila Yates and Paul Young. Absent was John Raymond.