Loyalsock supers OK community center deed

(EDITOR’S NOTE: Each Monday, the Sun-Gazette summarizes major votes of the past week and, more specifically, how our locally elected and appointed officials voted on each matter. Watch for it each Monday in the Sun-Gazette.)

Locally elected and appointed officials voted on the following matters in the past week:


The House voted 219-205 to establish the budget for the United States for fiscal year 2015, which also sets forth appropriate budgetary levels for fiscal years 2016 through 2024. It now goes to the Senate for a vote. Voting yes were U.S. Reps. Tom Marino, R-Cogan Station, and Glenn “GT” Thompson, R-Howard.

The Senate voted unanimously to pass the Digital Accountability and Transparency Act, a bill to increase accountability and transparency in Federal spending. It now goes to the House for a vote. Voting yes were U.S. Sens. Bob Casey, D-Scranton, and Pat Toomey, R-Zionsville.


The Senate voted 48-0 and House voted 191-0 to approve House Bill 436, which amends the Domestic Relations statute to further include persons required to report suspected child abuse and expanding penalties for failure to report or to refer. Voting yes were state Sen. Gene Yaw, R-Loyalsock Township, and state Reps. Rick Mirabito, D-Williamsport; Garth Everett, R-Muncy; Matt Baker, R-Wellsboro; and Michael Hanna Sr., D-Lock Haven.


Lycoming County commissioners voted 3-0 to allocate $150,000 from the county liquid fuels fund among all 52 of the county’s townships and boroughs. Voting yes were Tony Mussare, Jeff Wheeland and Ernie Larson.

The Williamsport Municipal Airport Authority voted 5-0 to approve an agreement with Delta Development Group Inc., for procuring state funds for construction of the new airport terminal, at a cost not to exceed $63,000. Voting yes were William Martin, Chris Logue, Atwood Welker, Frank Pellegrino and Rebecca Burke. Ryan Tira and T. Michael Hughes were absent.

The Lycoming County Prison Board voted 4-0 to approve the hirings of Kayla Null as full-time correctional officer relief at a rate of $14.71 per hour and Christopher Rundio as full-time pre-release center resident supervisor at a rate of $16.10 per hour. Voting yes were Commissioners Wheeland, Larson and Mussare. Chief Deputy Sheriff Curtis Ulmer voted yes on behalf of Sheriff Mark Lusk. Controller Krista Rogers, Judge Nancy Butts, District Attorney Eric Lindhart and Lusk were absent.


Montoursville Borough Council approved the hiring of Ryan Travelpiece as a part-time police officer at a rate of $16.37 per hour. Voting yes were Mark Tillson, Ronald Shearer, David Moyer and Christopher Lucas. Dennis Holt and Rosemary Holmes were absent.

City Planning Commission voted 6-0 to recommend approval of land development and subdivision plans for an apartment complex to be built on Chestnut Street and have up to 38 apartments. Voting yes were Carolyn Bullock, Theresa Williams, Sam Washington, Charles Plankenhorn, Harry Sechler and Cynthia Eister. Chris Keiser and William Rischar abstained.

Loyalsock Township supervisors voted 5-0 for township Manager Bill Burdett to sign the deed for the Loyalsock Community Center on Four Mile Drive. Voting in favor were Virginia Eaton, Marc Sortman, Rick Wheeland, John Bower Jr. and Paul Nyman.

School District

The South Williamsport Area School Board voted 7-1 to appoint Joe Pulizzi III to fill the vacant Region I school board member position. Voting yes were Chris Branton, Don Lowe, Greg Anthony, Greg Balawajder, Jerry Broskey, John Engel and Sue Davenport. Voting no was Sam Burch.

The East Lycoming School Board voted 8-0 to award Nutrition Inc., the contract to provide Food Service Management Company Services for the 2014-15 school year. Voting yes were Richard Michael, Donna Gavitt, Kellie Shaner-Gordner, Diane Santo, Jonathan Brokaw, Amy Rodgers, Karen Berger and Randy Eddinger. Absent from the vote was Richard Bradley.

The Montoursville Area School Board approved a one-year extension with the borough of Montoursville to provide a school resource officer for the 2014-15 school year. Voting yes were Jill Kaplan, Thomas McNamara, Dale Ulmer, George Hagemeyer, Jeff Schons, Jennifer Marriott, James Bergen and William Ruffing. Scott Konkle was absent.