3 school districts look to hike taxes

(EDITOR’S NOTE: Each Monday, the Sun-Gazette summarizes major votes of the past week and, more specifically, how our locally elected and appointed officials voted on each matter. Watch for it each Monday in the Sun-Gazette.)

Locally elected and appointed officials voted on the following matters in the past week:


The U.S. Senate confirmed the nomination of James Alan Soto, of Arizona, to be United States district judge for the District of Arizona, by a vote of 93-1. Voting yes were Sens. Pat Toomey, R-Zionsville, and Bob Casey, D-Scranton.


Lycoming County commissioners voted 3-0 to award a contract to Seewald Laboratory Inc. for $36,735 for testing and analysis of groundwater samples to be drawn from randomly selected wells in the coming months. Commissioners also approved $270,000 in gas drilling impact fee funding for the Grove Street Commons housing project and signed a memorandum of understanding with Muncy Borough to provide $200,000 in impact fee funding for an intersection improvement project at Water and Main streets, contingent upon the borough receiving a state grant for an automated traffic signal system. Voting yes were Jeff Wheeland, Tony Mussare and Ernie Larson.

The Lycoming County Planning Commission voted 8-0 to add Bastress and Limestone townships to the county zoning partnership. Voting yes were Howard Fry, Christopher Keiser, Cindy Bower, James Dunn, Joseph Neyhart, Carl Nolan, William Parsons and Michael Sherman. George Logue Jr. was absent.


Williamsport City Council voted 7-0 on a resolution to submit a grant application to the state Office of Budget for a $3 million Redevelopment Capital Assistance grant for Destination 2014 Town Center. Voting in favor were Council President Bill Hall, and council members – Bonnie Katz, Liz Miele, Jonathan Williamson, Don Noviello, Randall J. Allison, and N. Clifford “Skip” Smith. Council voted 7-0 to table a memorandum of understanding with the city and LHP Management Co., the proposed builder of the Destination 2014 site including a civic arena and redevelopment of the YMCA building and block. Voting in favor of tabling the motion were Hall, Katz, Miele, Williamson, Noviello, Allison and Smith.

South Williamsport Borough Council voted 8-0 to re-appoint Steve Roupp to its Board of Appeals for a five-year term beginning June 14. Voting in favor were Richard Harris Jr., Joseph Larue Jr., Albert Morrison III, Jeff Thompkins, Dan Cupp, Henry Frey Jr., Robert Cronin and Ed Weinhoffer. Council President J. Bernard Schelb was absent due to illness. Council also voted unanimously to sell a public works Ford F-550 truck for $5155.50 and spreader to Roswell Ulrich.

Jersey Shore Borough Council voted to spend $2,000 to upgrade the borough’s server and computer system. Voting yes were Paul Garrett, Sean Simcox, Marguerite Dyroff, John Pisarcik, Barbara Schmouder, and Janet Barnhart. Deborah Colocino and Kenneth Scheesley were absent

Loyalsock Township supervisors voted 4-0 to approve $10,889 to be used for a seal-coat program for the roadways. Voting in favor were board members Paul Nyman, Rick Wheeland, Marc Sortman and Virginia Eaton. Board member John Bower Jr. was absent.

The supervisors also voted 4-0 to reappoint Donald Bower and Robert Hippenstiel to the planning commission for a four-year term.

School District

The Montoursville Area School Board approved a preliminary budget for 2014-15 that calls for a tax increase of 0.36 mills. The board also approved a contract agreement between the district and the Montoursville Area Education Association. Voting yes were Thomas McNamara, Jill Kaplan, James Bergen, Jeff Schans, George Hagemeyer, Jennifer Marriott, Dale Ulmer and William Ruffing. Scott Konkle was absent.

The Jersey Shore Area School Board voted 9-0 to approved a memorandum of understanding between Jersey Shore Area School District and Pennsylvania College of Technology regarding the Penn College NOW Concurrent Enrollment Partnership. The courses from the program will be offered with no tuition cost to the student. Voting yes were Craig Allen, Robert Pryor, Karen Stover, Denise Smith, Heather Williamson, David Hines, Kelley Wasson, Loren Koch and Harry Miller.

Muncy School District voted 7-1 to adopt its proposed final budget for the 2014-15 school year. The budget features a real estate tax increase of 0.35 mills, making the proposed millage 13.63 mills. Voting yes were Scott McLean, Mary Bennardi, Carla Auten, Lisa Sleboda, Kimberly Spring-Winters, Scott Johnson and Sarah Woodward. Voting no was Robert Titman. Board member Rhondel Moyle was absent.

Loyalsock Township School District voted 9-0 to adopt the 2014-15 proposed final budget. The budget features a real estate tax of 13.58 mills, making the increase in taxes on a $100,000 home $33. Voting yes were Edward Ade, Sheila Yates, Stephen Dewar, Maureen Carey, William Carlucci, David Hornberg, Christina Kiessling, John Raymond and Paul Young. All members were present.