Gov. candidate, state House seats on primary ballot

Lycoming County voters will head to the polls today to nominate Republican and Democrat candidates for state and federal offices.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

There are 22,637 Democrat and 34,340 Republican registered voters in the county, said Sandy Adams, county director of voter registration.

In addition, two polling places were moved to new sites:

Watson Township, township building, Route 44, Jersey Shore.

Williamsport 2nd precinct, main lobby of the Lycoming College Recreation Center, 508 Mulberry St.

Signs will be posted at the former polling places.

The biggest contest will be on the Democratic ballot for governor, where four candidates hope to secure the nomination: U.S. Rep. Allyson Schwartz, D-Philadelphia; Tom Wolf; Kathleen McGinty; Rob McCord. Gov. Tom Corbett is unopposed for the Republican nomination.

Hoping to win the Democrat nomination for lieutenant governor are state Sen. Mike Stack, D-Philadelphia; Mark Critz; Brad Koplinski; Mark Smith; Brandon Neuman. Incumbent Lt. Gov. Jim Cawley is unopposed for the Republican nomination.

Another race of local interest is for the 5th Congressional District, where Keith Strano Taylor and Thomas Tarantella are seeking the Democratic nomination. Incumbent Glenn “GT” Thompson is unopposed for the Republican nomination.

Other races appear to be a matter of formality, with no contests until the general election in November. They include:

10th Congressional District, Scott F. Brion, Democrat; Tom Marino, incumbent, Republican.

68th Legislative District, Jonathan A. Ruth, Democrat; Matt Baker, incumbent, Republican.

76th Legislative District, Michael K. Hanna Sr., incumbent, Democrat.

83rd Legislative District, Rick Mirabito, incumbent, Democrat; Jeff Wheeland, Republican.

84th Legislative District, Kristen Marie Hayes, Democrat; Garth Everett, incumbent, Republican.

Effective this election, Adams said, there also are several changes as a result of redistricting.

Montgomery Borough and Clinton and Woodward townships are in the 83rd Legislative District. They had been in the 84th. Hepburn and Lycoming townships are in the 84th District. They had been in the 83rd. The 84th also includes Gregg and White Deer townships in Union County.