Township supervisors OK bed, breakfast

Locally elected and appointed officials voted on the following matters in the past week:


The U.S. House of Representatives voted 227-187 to pass the Student and Family Tax Simplification Act, which amends the Internal Revenue Code to provide for an American Opportunity Tax Credit, in lieu of the current scholarship and learning tax credits. Voting yes were U.S. Reps. Tom Marino, R-Cogan Station, and U.S. Rep. Glenn “GT” Thompson, R-Howard.


The state Senate and House of Representatives were out of session and will reconvene on Sept. 15.


Lycoming County commissioners voted 2-1 approving a new county position that will assist nine municipal partners with stormwater management. The participating municipalities will split the $82,500 cost of the position. Voting yes were Jeff Wheeland and Ernie Larson. Tony Mussare voted no.

Lycoming County commissioners voted 3-0 granting an additional $85,000 to Muncy Borough for an intersection-improvement project at Main and Water streets. In May, the commissioners granted the borough $200,000 for the project. Voting yes were Jeff Wheeland, Ernie Larson and Tony Mussare.


Loyalsock Township supervisors voted 3-1 to allow Alechia Hause permission to convert her home at 1905 Konkle Road into a bed and breakfast, provided that she host no more than four overnight guests at any time and seek a special event permit to accommodate additional people. Voting yes were John Bower Jr., Richard Wheeland and Virginia Eaton. Marc Sortman voted no. Paul Nyman was absent.

City Council voted 6-0 to approve an amended ordinance to have Williamsport Parking Authority take over permit responsibility from city police. Voting in favor were Council President Bill Hall, Bonnie Katz, Liz Miele, Don Noviello, Randall J. Allison and N. Clifford “Skip” Smith. Jonathan Williamson was absent.

School District

Muncy School Board voted 9-0 to increase some meal prices for the 2014-15 school year. The price of breakfast increased by 20 cents, adult meals 30 cents, and lunch at the elementary school and high school both were increased by 10 cents. Voting yes were Carla Auten, Mary Bennardi, Scott Johnson, Rhondel Moyle, Lisa Sleboda, Kimberly Spring-Winters, Robert Titman, Sarah Woodward and Scott McLean.