Commissioners OK White Deer purchases

(EDITOR’S NOTE: Each Monday, the Sun-Gazette summarizes major votes of the past week and, more specifically, how our locally elected and appointed officials voted on each matter. Watch for it each Monday in the Sun-Gazette.)

Locally elected and appointed officials voted on the following matters in the past week:


• The House voted to amend the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (FIFRA) and the Federal Water Pollution Control Act (commonly known as the Clean Water Act) to prohibit the Environmental Protection Agency or a state from requiring a permit under the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System for a discharge of a pesticide from a point source into navigable waters if the discharge is approved under FIFRA. U.S. Reps. Thomas Marino, R-Cogan Station, and Glenn “G.T.” Thompson, R-Howard voted yes.


• The House voted 192-1 in favor of an Act providing for participation in the REAL ID Act of 2005. State Reps. Garth Everett, R-Muncy; Matt Baker, R-Wellsboro; and Mike Hanna, D-Lock Haven, voted yes. State Rep. Jeff Wheeland, R-Loyalsock Township, did not vote.


• Lycoming County commissioners voted unanimously to purchase equipment for the White Deer Golf Complex at a total of $80,950, to be paid with the remaining funds of a 2012 recreation bond. Commissioners also approved a request to apply for a grant in the amount of $206,167 for improvements to be made to the Basin Street/Via Bella intersection. The commissioners announced their next Thursday meeting will be held at 6 p.m. instead of 10 a.m. and that they will vote on implementing a $5 vehicle registration fee at their June 15 meeting. Voting were Jack McKernan, Tony Mussare and Rick Mirabito.


• City Council voted 6-0 on a resolution to approve a bicycle map for Williamsport. Voting were Council members Randall J. Allison, Joel Henderson, Bonnie Katz, Liz Miele, Don Noviello and Clifford “Skip” Smith. President Jonathan Williamson was absent.

School District

• The Williamsport Area School Board unanimously approved 15 teachers for online high school summer school effective June 12 through Aug. 4 as needed at the rate of $180 per student enrolled. Voting yes were members Patrick Dixon, Lori Baer, Jerene Milliken, Dr. Jane Penman and Spencer Sweeting. Members Scott Williams, Jennifer Lake, Dr. Nancy Story Somers and Dr. Robin Knauth were absent.