US Senate confirms new SEC member

(EDITOR’S NOTE: Each Monday, the Sun-Gazette summarizes major votes of the past week and, more specifically, how our locally elected and appointed officials voted on each matter. Watch for it each Monday in the Sun-Gazette.)

From Staff Reports

Locally elected and appointed officials voted on the following matters in the past week:


• The U.S. Senate voted 51-37 to confirm Jay Clayton, of New York, to be a member of the Securities and Exchange Commission. Voting yes was U.S. Sen. Pat Toomey, R-Zionsville. U.S. Sen. Bob Casey, D-Scranton, voted no.

• The U.S. House of Representatives voted 217-213 to pass the American Health Care Act of 2017. Voting yes were U.S. Reps. Tom Marino, R-Cogan Station, and Glenn “GT” Thompson, R-Howard.


• The state Senate and House of Representatives did not vote this week.


• The Lycoming County commissioners unanimously voted to table a request for new equipment at the White Deer Golf Complex. Voting yes were Rick Mirabito, Jack McKernan and Tony Mussare.


• The Lycoming County Water and Sewer Authority unanimously voted to approve bids for the Fairfield Township water storage tank construction.

Voting yes were Paul Wentzler, Charlie Hall, Michael Miller, Jan Ransdorf, James R. Carpenter and Frank Forsha. Victor Marquardt was absent.

School District

• The Williamsport Area School Board unanimously voted to adopt a proposed final budget with a 0.41-mill tax hike. The proposed final budget is subject to change until the final budget is adopted at the meeting on June 20. Voting were Patrick Dixon, Lori Baer, Jerene Milliken, Scott Williams, Jennifer Lake, Dr. Jane Penman, Dr. Nancy Story Somers, Spencer Sweeting and Dr. Robin Knauth.