2 borough mayors retained, 2 more welcomed aboard

During Tuesday’s election, four boroughs in the county had contested mayoral races — Montgomery, Montoursville, Muncy and South Williamsport.

According to unofficial election results, two incumbents will keep their positions in their respective boroughs, while two boroughs will welcome new mayors.

Democrat Robert M. Hoover, running in Montgomery, won with 52 percent of the 236 votes, over incumbent Andrew Onufrak II, who ran as an independent.

Republican Steve Bagwell, elected as Montoursville mayor, also will serve his first term. He was voted into office with 82.32 percent of 1,028 votes, over his opponent, independent Carol Staron.

Muncy Borough incumbent Mayor Republican Jonathan Ort again was voted into the position with 61.12 percent of 499 votes. His opponent was Democrat Matilda L. Noviello.

South Williamsport incumbent Mayor David J. Lechniak also kept his position by claiming 52.22 percent of the votes. His opponent, Republican Marlin Angelo, took 47.39 percent of the 1,036 votes.

According to Lechniak, the campaign was hard fought on both sides.

“It was tough. I take my hat off to Angelo. It was a clean campaign for both of us,” Lechniak said. “You couldn’t ask for anyone better. He was an excellent opponent. I hope he looks to the future. He’s a good man.”

Both Old Lycoming and Clinton townships had contested races for seats for township supervisors.

In Clinton Township, two Republicans were voted into the two open seats. Patrick L. Deitrick received 27.22 percent of the vote and John W. Magyar II, 27.69 percent. Democrats Edward Ferguson and Richard S. Kneedler lost.

Both candidates for Old Lycoming Township supervisor are holding seats on the board. David W. Shirn was appointed to the position last month after Supervisor John W. Eck resigned. Shirn won the six-year supervisor term Tuesday night with 54.7 percent of 1,033 votes.

His opponent, Linda D. Mazzullo, will be given the opportunity to finish the two years left on Eck’s term.

The race for seats on Muncy Borough Council was contested, with three open spots and four candidates running. Republicans Richard E. Umpstead, Dana E. Bertin and Edward M. Feigles were elected to seats over Democrat William J. Burns.