Local races the highlight of Election Day

Lycoming County residents registered to vote will have a chance to strike their ballots or a number of candidates on both the local and state level in today’s general election.

Polls will open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m.

Perhaps the most anticipated local race is that for common pleas judge, pitting Lycoming County District Attorney Eric Linhardt against attorney Mary Kilgus, who is running as an independent.

The city of Williamsport features seven candidates vying for three council seats.

The three incumbents are Republicans Clifford “Skip” Smith and Randall J. Allison and Democrat Liz Miele. The four others are Republican Steven M. Shope, Democrats Derek J. Slaughter and Matilda Noviello, and Bill Hall, an independent.

City voters also will elect seven candidates for each of two government study commissions.

In addition, voters will decide on two ballot questions pertaining to city government.

The first question is: “Shall a charter commission of seven members be elected to study the charter and form of government of the City of Williamsport and to consider a new charter and to make recommendations thereon?”

The second question will ask voters: “Shall a government study commission of seven members be elected to study the existing form of government of the City of Williamsport, to consider the advisability of the adoption of a home rule charter and, if advisable, to draft and to recommend a home rule charter?”

Seven people are seeking election to five seats on the Williamsport Area School Board. They are: Spencer Sweeting, Dr. Robin Knauth, Dr. Nancy Story Somers, Dr. Jane Penman, Chuck Black, Mark Shefsky and Adam C. Welteroth.

Voters in Muncy, Montoursville and South Williamsport will decide who will be their next mayors.

In Muncy, Matilda L. Noviello, a Democrat, is running against incumbent Republican Jonathan Ort.

The South Williamsport mayoral race is between Republican Marlin Angelo and Democratic incumbent David J. Lechniak.

In Montoursville, Republican Steve Bagwell is running against Carol Staron, an independent.

In Old Lycoming Township, Democrat Linda D. Muzullo, an incumbent, is facing a challenge from Republican David W. Shirn for supervisor.

Four candidates are running for two seats for Clinton Township supervisor. They are Republicans John W. Magyar and Patrick L. Deitrick and Democrats Edward Ferguson, an incumbent, and Richard S. Kneedler.

Three district judges seeking another term in office are all running unopposed. They are Allen P. Page, Jon Kemp and Gary A. Whiteman.

Mark Lusk is running unopposed for reelection for sheriff.

Statewide, voters will have a say in deciding on a ballot measure opening the door for property tax relief for homeowners. The proposed amendment to Article VIII of the state Constitution would increase the exclusion level up to 100 percent of the value of homes in municipalities, counties or school districts.

Voters also will cast ballots for candidates running for Supreme Court, Superior Court and Commonwealth Court.

In Lycoming County, 37,428 people are registered as Republican and 21,161 people are Democrats.