Williamsport Area School Board re-elects president

The Williamsport Area School Board unanimously re-elected Lori Baer as board president during its meeting on Tuesday.

In another unanimous vote, Dr. Jane Penman was elected to be the board’s vice president, replacing Spencer Sweeting.

“I just want to take a moment … to thank Spencer for his time as vice president. Your plate is extremely full, so we appreciate everything you’ve done for this district,” Baer said. “Welcome, Jane, as our vice president … you bring a wealth of knowledge and experience.”

Baer said she believes the district has been heading in a good direction and will continue to do so.

At the beginning of the meeting, Penman, Marc D. Schefsky, Sweeting and Adam C. Welteroth were sworn in by President Judge Nancy L. Butts to the start of their terms as board members. Penman and Sweeting are incumbents.

“Congratulations to all our newly elected board members. A special welcome to our two brand new members to the board,” said Dr. Timothy Bowers, superintendent.

He said he would meet with Welteroth and Schefsky to introduce them to the district’s departments and let them get a better feeling for how it operates.

“We’ll talk about what they (the departments) do and just familiarize yourselves with all the internal workings of the district,” he said. “We look forward to that.”

In other business, the board unanimously approved Justin D. Ross, who was the freshman principal, to change positions and become the principal at the middle school at a salary of $105,000, effective today.

Roger W. Freed, who was the assistant principal at Jackson Primary School, also was unanimously hired as ninth-grade principal at the high school at a salary rate of $81,000, effective today.

In the same vote, the board appointed Louise M. Ferguson as a substitute food service worker and Sasha M. Valencia as a substitute administrative support aide, both at $9 an hour.

Present at the meeting were members Baer, Sweeting, Penman, Schefsky, Welteroth and Jerene Milliken. Members Patrick Dixon, Dr. Nancy Story Somers and Jennifer Lake were absent.

The next meeting will be 6 p.m. Jan. 2 at the District Service Center, 2780 W. Fourth St.