LEGISLATIVE TALLY: Authority chairman, levee grant taken up

Locally elected and appointed officials voted on the following matters in the past week:


• Williamsport Municipal Water and Sanitary Authority voted 9-0 with one abstention to make Thomas Marnon chairman of the water authority. Voting were Steven W. Cappelli, Bill Ertel, Cindi Perry Rischar, John Meyer, Andree Phillips, George Bierman, Gregory Zeitler, Eiderson Dean and William Nichols Sr. The authority voted in likewise manner for naming Meyer as chairman of the sanitary authority.

• City Council voted 7-0 to delay a vote on submitting a $5 million grant application for levee improvement to the state Office of Budget. Voting were President Jonathan Williamson, Randall J. Allison, Bonnie Katz, Liz Miele, Joel Henderson, Don Noviello and Derek Slaughter.

• The Loyalsock Township supervisors awarded contracts for roadwork and construction materials. The township chose DeAngelo Brothers Inc. for line painting for $17,892, awarded a $49,750 contract to Hammaker East for sealcoating, chose HRI Inc. for the three materials the township will need for roadwork from between $48 and $57 per ton and hired Dave Gutelius Excavating as its resurfacing and paving contractor for $308,855. Voting to approve all of the bids were John Bower Jr., Rick Wheeland, Virginia Eaton and Paul Nyman. Marc Sortman was absent.

School District

• The Jersey Shore Area School Board voted 8-1 to approve a license agreement between the state Department of Environmental Protection and the district regarding an air monitoring station at Salladasburg Elementary School. Voting yes were members Kelley Wasson, Craig Allen, Dr. John Pecchia, Karen Stover, Christopher Fravel, Mary Thomas, Michelle Stemler and Harry Brungard. Member Merrill Sweitzer voted no.