Loyalsock Township to replace traffic light

The Loyalsock Township supervisors unanimously accepted a proposal from Larson Design Group to begin the designing phase of a new traffic signal at the intersection of Northway Road and Sheridan Street at its meeting Tuesday night.

The board has worked on securing grant funding for the project over the past three years and decided to move along despite the bid costing more than the estimated costs.

“It is the oldest in the township and probably the only one in the area on a wooden pole,” said Bill Burdett, the township’s business manager. “I would guess that it is 60 or 70 years old.”

Burdett recommended to the board that while the state Department of Transportation will only be covering 80 percent of what the board estimated the project would cost, taking the increase for the sake of finishing the project would be worth it.

He added that to halt the project now would force the township to “wait probably two years before you would even begin the design phase again.”

The project is estimated to cost the township about $110,000 compared to the $50,000 that was previously budgeted, but Burdett added that the township has the remaining funds needed in capital reserves for occasions like this.

In other news, the board accepted a $7,451 donation for a new solar powered security camera for Commerce Park’s parking lot. The donation, according to Burdett, will be coming from an individual who recently had his car broken into on the lot.

“A lot of people have been parking there to use the Susquehanna River Walk,” Burdett said. The board agreed to install a telephone in the parking lot to mount the camera signal on and to have the township monitor the system with the stipulation that future repairs of the system may depend on if it has shown to be useful.

The board also approved a goldsmith moving into the area to use his home on Washington Boulevard for a planned jewelry store. Per zoning regulation, he will only be able to use 25 percent of the home for business.

Paul Nyman, John C. Bower Jr., Marc C. Sortman, Richard H. Wheeland and Virginia Eaton were present.