Konkle re-elected as Montoursville board president, tax limit passed

The Montoursville Area School Board re-elected Scott Konkle as president during its annual reorganization meeting Tuesday night.

The vote was 9-0 to retain Konkle as president.

Voting yes were William Ruffing, Susan Beery, Dottie Mathers, Dave Shimmel, Robert Logue, Daniel Albert, Ron Snell, Jennifer Marriott and Konkle.

The board also re-elected Ruffing as vice president.

The vote was 8-1 with Snell casting the lone no vote.

It was agreed that the board continue to meet in regular session the second Tuesday of every month at 7 p.m. except for December. Work sessions will be held the fourth Tuesday of the month from January to May and September and October.

The board unanimously passed a resolution to limit the 2019-20 real estate tax increase to the Act 1 index.

Prior to the vote, Superintendent Christine Bason suggested to the board that the index not be exceeded.

Snell agreed, noting that the district has approved real estate tax increases 10 of the past 13 years.

The board agreed to have district solicitor Levi Woodward revise wording for a policy on school building visits.

Snell said visitors should be restricted to those conducting school business.

“People shouldn’t be roaming the schools,” he said.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today