Keystone Majors capture District 12 banner

Keystone overcame its slowest start of the District 12 Major Baseball tournament to down Loyalsock, 14-3, on Friday night Volunteer Stadium.

Keystone claimed its second District 12 title in three years thanks to A.J. Smith and Austin Rager. Both broke open the game with fourth-inning home runs. Asher Corl also connected with a two-run home run in the third.

Smith kept Loyalsock at bay from the mound. Aaron Swartz entered in the fourth to finish the game for Keystone.

Keystone advances to the Section 3 tournament and will play the District 13 champ on July 13.

Keystone 14, Loyalsock 3

Keystone 207 23-14 9 1

Loyalsock 100 20-3 4 2

A.J. Smith, Aaron Swartz (4), and Troy Gardner. Evan Nagy, Haydn Watkins (3), and Zach Haefner. WP-Smith. LP-Nagy.

Top Keystone hitters: Asher Corl 1-2, HR, 3 runs; Gardner 2B, HR, 2 runs; Smith HR, 2 runs, 2 RBI; Austin Rager 2B, HR, 2 runs. Top Loyalsock hitters: Derek Gee 2-3, 2B, run.

Next: Keystone opens sectional play.