Puerto Rico sixth LLWS berth

All but two International berths have been decided for the Little League World Series running Aug. 15-25 at Lamade and Volunteer Stadiums, and one of those teams will be decided this weekend with the Latin American regional in Guayaquil, Ecuador.

This past weekend, Samaritana LL from San Lorenzo, PR, won the Caribbean region by defeating Pariba LL from Willemstad, Curacao in Bonaire. It’s Samaritana’s first trip but the ninth entry from Puerto Rico dating to 1959.

Samaritana will face the Latin American champion in the very first game of the LLWS on Thursday, Aug. 15 at 1 at Volunteer Stadium.

The winning team from San Lorenzo finished with a 1-2 record in pool play, but outscored opponents 28-5 in their last three games to capture the Caribbean Region, defeating defending champion, Pariba LL, in the championship game.

Also last weekend, South Moravia LL from Brno, Czech Republic, became the first entry from that country to earn an LLWS berth when it won the European region in Kutno, Polan.

The only other International berth to be decided is Canada, during that national tournament Aug. 2-11 in Glace Bay, Nova Scotia.

International berths already locked up are Chung-Ping LL from Taoyuan, Taiwan (Asia-Pacific), Perth Metro Central LL (Australia), Musashi-Fuchu LL from Tokyo (Japan) and Municipal De Tijuana LL from Tijuana, Baja California (Mexico).

The United States regions begin Aug. 2. The finals run Aug. 7-11 and will be televised on ESPN channels.