Hoffman takes bronze at Cadet Worlds

Montoursville senior Gavin Hoffman won a bronze medal at 85 kg at the Cadet World Wrestling Championships in Athens, Greece on Saturday. The two-time PIAA state champion won a trio of matches in the repechage to pick up his first world medal.

Hoffman went 1-1 in the championship bracket on Friday, opening with an 8-2 win over Hungary’s Davis Losonczi. He was knocked out of the championship bracket with a 9-3 loss to Iran’s Abbas Ali Foroutanrami. But because Foroutanrami want on to make the finals of the tournament, Hoffman was placed into the consolation bracket (repechage) during the second day of the tournament yesterday.

He opened repechage with a forfeit victory before defeating Kazakhstan’s Bekzat Urkimbay with a 10-0 technical fall to reach the bronze-medal match.

Hoffman scored the opening two points on push outs against India’s Sandeep Singh Mann before he was taken down late in the first period for a 2-2 tie after opening two minutes. Hoffman rattled off five points in the second period to control the match and pick up a 7-2 win for his first international medal.

“The biggest lesson I learned was just to fight as hard as I can every second and to not get discouraged no matter how bad I’m losing,” Hoffman told teamusa.org following his final win. “I have to keep my head in the match the whole time and never give up. I just have to get 100 percent out of myself every time I step on the mat.”

Hoffman becomes the first District 4 wrestler to win a Cadet Worlds medal since Benton’s Zain Retherford won the 63 kg world title in 2012 in Azerbaijan. Earlier this year, Hoffman committed to wrestle in college at Ohio State University.

Hoffman’s next competition will be FloWrestling’s Who’s Number One event at Lehigh University’s Grace Hall on Oct. 8. There Hoffman, who is ranked second nationally at 195 pounds by FloWrestling, faces top-ranked Michael Beard of Malvern Prep. Beard is a Penn State commit.

This winter, Hoffman will be looking to be District 4’s first three-time state champion since Line Mountain’s Mike Shingara won his third in 1997.