All 10 LHU wrestlers earn pre-seeds for EWL tourney

The Eastern Wrestling League has announced the pre-seeds for Saturday’s championship and all 10 Lock Haven University wrestlers have earned pre-seeds including Ronnie Perry (149 pounds), Chance Marsteller (165) and Corey Hazel (184) who earned the top-seed at their respective weight class.

Thomas Haines is seeded No. 2 at 285, while Alex Klucker (157) and Tristan Sponseller (197) will both enter the tournament as No. 3 seeds. Luke Werner (125), DJ Fehlman (133), Kyle Shoop (141) and Jared Siegrist (174) are all seeded fourth.

Perry is a returning EWL champion after he claimed the 141-pound title last year. Shoop was second last season at 149 and Haines finished second at 285 in 2017. The return of Sponseller at 197 will bolster Lock Haven’s championship lineup Saturday. Sponseller was third at last seasons’ EWL championships, but hasn’t competed since the Virginia Duals on January 12.

Saturday’s EWL Championships get underway at 10 a.m. from Edinboro University’s McComb Fieldhouse. The Bald Eagles are looking for their first EWL title since 1997.