Wesneski named MAC Wrestler of the Year

A national title at 285 pounds to highlight a record-breaking career has helped Lycoming College senior and Canton graduate Garrett Wesneski earn the Middle Atlantic Conference Wrestler of the Year award.

Wesneski is the first Warrior to earn the MAC’s Wrestler of the Year award, which has been given since 2014. Eleven Warriors earned the Most Outstanding Wrestler award that was given at the conclusion of the MAC Championships between 1957-06, with Grant Brindle last winning the award in 2005.

Wesneski finished 28-1 overall during his senior year, reeling off 25 wins in a row to finish the season, tied for the eighth-longest win streak in school history.

Wesneski finished his two-year career at Lycoming with a 66-5 overall record, his .930 winning percentage the best in program history. Along with Saturday night’s national championship, Wesneski was also a two-time Southeast Region champion and the 2018 Southeast Region Most Outstanding wrestler.

• In college softball, Becca Caputo, a Jersey Shore graduate, hit a two-run, walk-off single to left field give Lock Haven a 4-3 win over Hillsdale as LHU went 1-1 on day three of the PFX Tournament in Clermont, Florida. Earlier in the day, the Bald Eagles fell to Fairmont State, 3-0.

• In men’s lacrosse, Andrew Ream completed his first hat trick of the season, posting three goals to lead Lycoming, but Keene State used 10 first-half goals to post a 17-7 win.

Travis Rode added a goal and two assists and Michael Tenant made 19 saves and allowed 16 goals in 56 minutes.

• The NCAA released the brackets with pre-tournament seeds for the Division I Wrestling Championships and the six NCAA tournament bound Lock Haven wrestlers learned who their first round opponents will be.

DJ Fehlman, Kyle Shoop, Alex Klucker, Chance Marsteller, Corey Hazel and Thomas Haines are all headed to Pittsburgh for the 2019 Championships.

All six qualified by way of their 2019 Eastern Wrestling League (EWL) individual titles. Fehlman (133), Klucker (157), Marsteller (165) and Hazel (184) are now all two-time NCAA qualifiers. Both Shoop (141) and Haines (285) are now three-time NCAA qualifiers.

• Mansfield University assistant track and field and cross country coach Michelle Rohl won the mile and finished runner-up in the 800-meter in the 50-54 age group at the USA Track and Field 2019 Masters Indoor Championships in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

Rohl won the mile with a time of 5:36.15, improving upon her seed time of 5:37.

College Softball

Fairmont State 3,

Lock Haven 0

LHU 000 000 0 — 0 2 0

FS 200 001 x — 3 8 1

Kayla Gee and Madison Mathes. Hannah Absalom and Andie Baughman. W–Absalom (3-2). L–Gee (3-2).

Top LHU hitters: Faith Ceely 1-3; Mikayla Ruppert 1-3. Top Fairmont State hitters: Carly Clarke 3-3 RBI; Heidi Hormell 2-2 RBI, run.

Lock Haven 4,

Hillsdale 3

Hillsdale 000 000 21 — 3 4 0

LHU 100 100 02 — 4 10 2

Camryn Olson and Madison Rathbun. Bekah Slattery and. W–Slattery (2-5). L–Olson (2-1).

Top Hillsdale hitters: Jessica Taylor 1-2 RBI; Emma Johnson 1-3 RBI. Top LHU hitters: Faith Ceely 2-4 2 runs; Mikayla Ruppert 3-4 RBI; Becca Caputo 2-4 2 RBI; Casey Carpenter 1-3 run.